Tuesday’s Meme Things (on Wednesday): From Hazelmoor to L.A. and back again

I participate each Tuesday (this week Wednesday) in book blogging meme activities:

tuesdaywhereareyou First up, It’s Tuesday … Where are You as hosted by raidergirl3:

Last Tuesday, I was in Hazelmoor in England with Major Burnaby in Agatha Christie’s Murder at Hazelmoor (aka as The Sittaford Mystery). I was reading it as part of the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge hosted by Kerrie from Mysteries in Paradise.

I wish I could say I was still there. However, I’m afraid the book was raptured. What do I mean? Well, you’ll have to read here to believe. The thing is that irks me more than losing the book is that I’m reading the books in order and now I have to wait either until Jesus returns the book or I have to buy a new copy for the library to continue the series. Dang it!

This week, I’m investigating the murder of a doctor in L.A. and on tracking down the world’s Third Most Wanted Criminal. The doctor was executed with two bullets in the back of the head on The Overlook (Michael Connelly). The world’s Third Most Wanted Criminal is Archeron Hades and is about to pluck Jane Eyre from the pages of her novel in The Eyre Affair (Jasper Fforde). This leads me to…

*****

teasertuesdays3 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading, with the rules pretty simple: Grab your current read, open to a random page, share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page, BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!), and then share the author too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Lakes! Daffodils! Solitude! Memory! whispered the worms excitedly as Mycroft carefully closed the book and locked it. He connected up the heavy mains feed to the back of the book and switched the power switch to “on”; he then started work on the myriad of knobs and dials that covered the front of the heavy volume.

*****

library-lootfriday-finds

Next up, I’m combining Library Loot hosted by Eva and Marg and Friday Finds also hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. The first focuses on books that you’ve checked out from the library; the second, books that you’ve come across that you want to read.

The author this time again is Michael Connelly; the book, the aforementioned The Overlook.

The book is the 13th in the Harry Bosch series, with only one more left that has been published so far to read: The Brass Verdict. In October, Connelly will release the 15th in the series: Nine Dragons.

*****

Last but not least is this week’s Weekly Geeks, which is posted by Ali from Worducopia. I’m not going to give you an explanation of it. You just have to go see it (click on previous link). Bottom line: is this scene real or fake?

Here’s my scene:

“Wow, an every realm persists,” she thought. “If only I could fall into it, I wouldn’t have to be pumping gas here.” Then she snapped back to reality as the smell of ethanol overwhelmed her.

6 responses to “Tuesday’s Meme Things (on Wednesday): From Hazelmoor to L.A. and back again

  1. I loved The Eyre Affair and hope that you enjoy it too. Thanks for sharing the teaser 😉

  2. I’d go with fake as well, with the random words being: gas, reality, overwhelmed.

    Sentence: An every realm persists.

    It’s so succinct, that it’s really hard to tell. Good job:)

  3. I think fake, too; and that the random words are fall, ethanol, and snapped.

  4. Great job with this. It’s so startlingly random, but hard to tell whether that’s because of inserting random words into an existing scene, or because you wrote it all that way.

  5. I think your randomly-generated sentence is “every realm persists,” and I’m guessing your random words are fall, pumping, and reality. It’s so hard to guess real vs. fake when your excerpt is so succinct…but I guess I’ll go with fake this time around. Well played!