Library Loot July 22, 2009

library-loot

Library Loot is hosted by Eva and Marg and focuses on books that you’ve checked out from the library. Usually, I combine it with another meme called Friday Finds and a few other memes in a post called Tuesday’s Meme Things as I did yesterday. Then today I had to ruin the combination and go to the library. Argh!

Library Loot July 22 2009

Technically, I already had the Agatha Christie book,  as noted in a previous post, and was just renewing them. However, the other four are new additions.

From left are:

  • Edgar Allan Poe: Poetry and Tales, from The Library Of America,
  • The Sign of Four by Arthur Conan Doyle,
  • A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle, which should have been on the left since it is the first Sherlock Holmes, but I was in a hurry to get the photo and get it posted and now I’m going to go back and take another photo (so there :P!),
  • The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde, the first part of the Thursday Next series, which I didn’t realize our library had or wouldn’t have asked the local bookstore owners try to get it at a sale they are going to go today. However, since I already asked them and it probably won’t be that much if they do find it, I’ll let that go. Last week I bought the first two by Fforde at the store.

As for the Poe and Doyle, I mostly read mysteries, so I thought it would be good to start with a couple of the masters. With Poe, I wanted especially to read his short story, “The Murders in The Rue Morgue,” which is considered to be the first modern detective story. Of course, I’m looking forward to rereading his other classic stories: “The Fall of The House of Usher,” “The Cask of Amontillado” and “The Pit and The Pendulum,” all ones I don’t think many of us will forget from our junior high school days.

17 responses to “Library Loot July 22, 2009

  1. Pingback: A Winter Poem… | Left Of Sean

  2. Pingback: E-Book Review: Lacing Up for Murder | Pink Raygun.com

  3. My online library catalogue is my first place to visit when I am interested in a book, and then I go to bookstores etc, except for a few authors.

    Thanks for being part of Library Loot!

  4. Thanks for stopping by today, I can’t find your email link (but then I’m a bit cyber challenged) so I’m commenting here..regarding the Dexter books.
    There are three more:
    Darkly Dreaming Dexter
    Dearly Devoted Dexter
    Dexter in the Dark and now the new one
    Dexter by Design.

    I’d read them in order, but I’m compulsive that way!

    Thanks again!
    Kelly

  5. I still think “The Raven” as covered by Mad Magazine was a classic moment in comics.

  6. I’ve been meaning to continue on with the Jasper Fforde series but I haven’t picked up the 2nd book yet. I adore Agatha Christie and have a personal goal to read all of her books. Enjoy your finds!

  7. Poe = master.

    I haven’t actually read any Conan Doyle, well, I did buy an omnibus of Sherlock Holmes tales years and years ago but never got past the first page. I was young then so I’ll have to try again.

    • unfinishedperson

      Just skimming Conan Doyle, I think his stuff would be pretty hard to get into as a youth. I don’t remember reading him when I was young, probably for that very reason.

  8. It looks like you’ve chosen from the best in the genre, an interesting variety of styles too. I read all the Christie’s (yes, all 88) about 30 years ago. Poe is too creepy for me. I don’t know Fforde’s work, though I’ve looked around his site. He doesn’t look like my cup of tea. Enjoy your loot.
    Re your note: I’ll be posting my review of Molly Fox’s Birthday next Thursday, July 30.

    • unfinishedperson

      I’m not sure if Fforde is my cup of tea either, but I’m willing to give him a try.

  9. Fforde 😀 He is so funny and weird. I hope my library will get more of his books

    • unfinishedperson

      The Eyre Affair was the only one I saw but they may have more. However, our library is notorious for having one or two of a series and then not having the rest. Cutbacks, I guess.

  10. I do like Poe. Enjoy!

  11. unfinishedperson

    Wow, I think that’s about the quickest comment I’ve ever had here :). As for your comment, I’ll be sure to look for the parallels per your suggestion. I think I had heard that about the story previously.

    Fforde: I’m really looking forward to reading them, but I “need to” crank out reading some Christie first. 🙂

  12. lovely choices, all. I love Fforde.
    Since you haven’t read Poe’s “Murders” before, you might enjoy looking carefully for the parallels between his detective and Holmes– basically, Poe invented Holmes by a different name.
    –Lizaanne
    http://lizaanne42.wordpress.com/