Tuesday’s Meme Things: More Christie, Westlake and favorite movie adaptations

I participate each Tuesday in book blogging meme activities:

tuesdaywhereareyou First up, It’s Tuesday … Where are You as hosted by raidergirl3:

This Tuesday, I’m at Hazelmoor in England with Major Barnaby in Agatha Christie’s Murder at Hazelmoor (aka as The Sittaford Mystery). I’m reading this as part of the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge hosted by Kerrie from Mysteries in Paradise.

I also am in New York City with George “Clay” Clayton as he hunts down the killer of Mavis St. Paul or as his boss, Ed Ganolese, calls the killer The Cutie who framed one of his underlings.

*****

teasertuesdays3 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading, with the rules pretty simple: Grab your current read, open to a random page, share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page, BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!), and then share the author too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Outside was the city, and it had halitosis. The air was hot and damp, and breathing was a conscious matter.

*****

library-lootfriday-finds

Next up, I’m combining Library Loot hosted by Eva and Marg and Friday Finds also hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. The first focuses on books that you’ve checked out from the library; the second, books that you’ve come across that you want to read. As usual, I’m cheating this week as again I haven’t returned to the library since I had quite a booty last time I was there.

The three authors, this time, are at the suggestion of a friend, John, who rarely has steered me wrong with his recommendations.

I’m not sure exactly how in the course of our conversation we came across the three. I think, though, for Carr, we might have been talking about Agatha Christie and for Brett, I mentioned Jasper Fforde, about whom I wrote last week.

*****

Last but not least is this week’s Weekly Geeks, which since it was one I posted I better answer:

…what are some of your favorite movie adaptations of books? Include trailers or scenes from Youtube if you’d like.

Also along with that question, or instead of that question, what book or series would you like to see be made into a movie or movies? Tell us why you think it or they would work as a movie. If the book already has a book trailer, include that, to help make your point.

Among my favorites are the following five (with a favorite, a trailer or, in one case, how the movie should have ended):

Lord of the Rings (of course):

The Shawshank Redemption based off the short story by Stephen King (liked the movie better):

O Brother Where Art Thou based off The Odyssey (love this part for Ralph Stanley’s singing not because I’m a lover of the Klan):

Stardust based off the Neil Gaiman novel (liked the movie better mainly because of Robert DeNiro’s character):

Field of Dreams, much better than the book on which it was based Shoeless Joe by W.P. Kinsella:

As for the second part of the question, I’d have to say C.S. Lewis’ The Space Trilogy: Out of The Silent Planet, Perelandra and That Hideous Strength. I’d just like to see any attempt a director could make to bring this complex science fiction trilogy to the screen.

21 responses to “Tuesday’s Meme Things: More Christie, Westlake and favorite movie adaptations

  1. I haven’t heard of any of your Library Loot authors. Have a great weekend!

  2. Wow, great selection of movie clips/trailers. I love Shawshank Redemption (very poignant clip, BTW) and Field of Dreams too. I knew I’d see LOTR on a lot of lists, but I think I like your clip the best! I didn’t really know anything about Stardust other than it was an adaptation of a Neil Gaiman book, so that scene with Robert De Niro caught me totally off guard. LOL!

  3. Pingback: Library Loot July 22, 2009 « Just A (Reading) Fool

  4. I just finished reading Stardust and I really liked both the movie and the book. But, I still liked the movie better.

  5. unfinishedperson

    He’s right, though. From my perspective, skip the book in this case and don’t feel guilty about it either (if you’re the kind that thinks you read the book too).

  6. Good choices on the movie adaptations. I’m totally with you on LotR.

    I enjoyed the movie Stardust, but haven’t read the book, and my husband says he doesn’t want to read it because it won’t have Robert De Niro :-).

  7. Believe it or not, I haven’t seen Lord of the Rings! It’s one of those things I keep meaning to do, but just haven’t done it yet.

    Want to read Shawshank Redemption as well – I loved the movie.

    Your choices look really tempting! Argh! 🙂

    • unfinishedperson

      You definitely should see the movie. Definitely (sorry feel like a mixture of Rain Man and Kevin from The Office coming on today). Definitely. 🙂

  8. I also loved Stardust! Great movie. I hadn’t realized that Shawshank Redemption was based on a short story.

  9. rikkiscraps

    I totally agree on LOTR. I also loved The Shawshank Redemption, but never read the story.

    • unfinishedperson

      I think I read the novella on which the movie was based, but it’s been a while ago and it didn’t stick with me like the movie.

  10. Good choices.

    I read The Shawshank Redemption while waiting for plane to fly home.

    I also read The Body aka Stand by Me and Apt Pupil, which is worth a watch if you haven’t seen the film.

    Definitely Shawshank and Stand by Me are two of the best Stephen King adaptations. The Shining also; another great example of a director putting their own spin on a story. The TV series, while being very faithful is absolutely terrible.

    • unfinishedperson

      I don’t think I’ve seen Apt Pupil, but heard it was good. Max Von Sydow? Unbelievably, I’ve never seen the movie The Shining.

  11. Stardust is an excellent adaptation. I own both the book and the film. It was the first Neil Gaiman book I had ever read.

    • unfinishedperson

      The first one I read by Gaiman was Neverwhere. I’ve only read three so far, but that still has been my favorite.

  12. great teaser…although I don’t think I would like to know how that smells like.

  13. it was great imagery, loved the LOTR video
    I am here

    • unfinishedperson

      I don’t think I had seen the video previously and thought we all (or most of us anyway) have seen the trailers and what not for the movies, so this would be something different.

  14. I really like the imagery of the city having halitosis. My city absolutely does. There is an open sewer right in front of my doorstep here in Korea, pleasant.

    • unfinishedperson

      Sorry to hear that, but glad that Westlake could capture the imagery of most cities so well. 🙂