Tuesday’s Meme Things: England, England and the rest of the world

I participate each Tuesday in book blogging meme activities:

tuesdaywhereareyou First up, It’s Tuesday … Where are You as hosted by raidergirl3:

This Tuesday, I’m in St. Mary Mead in England with Miss Marple investigating her first case, The Murder at The Vicarage, as presented by, who else, Agatha Christie. I’m reading this as part of the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge hosted by Kerrie from Mysteries in Paradise.

*****

teasertuesdays3 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading, with the rules pretty simple: Grab your current read, open to a random page, share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page, BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!), and then share the author too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Hawe’s appearance distressed me very much. His hands were shaking and his face kept twitching nervously.

*****

library-lootfriday-finds

Next up, I’m combining Library Loot hosted by Eva and Marg and Friday Finds also hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. The first focuses on books that you’ve checked out from the library; the second, books that you’ve come across that you want to read. This one, though, is a bit of a cheat this week as the two books aren’t from the library but ones I bought from a local bookstore.

Blogger Jenn Thorson of Of Cabbages and Kings, recommended this series (of which these are No. 2 and No. 3 of 5) to me when she and another blogger, Kathy Frederick of The Junk Drawer, were visiting my wife and I earlier this summer. The only problem is that while the first of the series, The Eyre Affair, was available at the bookstore, it was a brand new paperback and was $15. The others were used and much less. So I’m going to wait until the owners can see if they get me a copy in the next couple of weeks for only a few bucks. I have plenty to read in the meantime, including a host of Agatha Christie.

For more on Fforde, visit his website.

*****

Last but not least is this week’s Weekly Geeks, which asks us to tell about our globetrotting via books.

Are you a global reader? How many countries have you “visited” in your reading? What are your favorite places or cultures to read about? Can you recommend particularly good books about certain regions, countries or continents? How do you find out about books from other countries? What countries would you like to read that you haven’t yet?

No. Not many. England? No. I don’t. I’m a xenophobe. And last but not least, I prefer to be insular.

Okay, seriously, though:

create your own visited country map
or check our Venice travel guide

Okay, I guess I am pretty insulated, in that I’ve only visited 16 countries or 7 percent of the world’s countries, according to this map. So revised answers: No. 16. The U.S., in particular The South. Anything by William Faulker and Flannery O’Connor. Book bloggers. All the ones from which I haven’t read yet. 🙂

I guess I can’t sing this song, at least, not with much conviction, can I?

15 responses to “Tuesday’s Meme Things: England, England and the rest of the world

  1. Pingback: Tuesday’s Meme Things: More Christie, Westlake and favorite movie adaptations « Unfinished Person

  2. unfinishedperson

    So I take it that it must have been good then? 🙂 Glad to hear that I’m not wasting my time. 😉

    As for the map, it’s not mine. The idea came from Weekly Geeks, feel free to take and use.

  3. I’ve read the first book in Ffordes series, and just haven’t got around to any others. I keep meaning to though!

    I love the map…I’m going to have to steal that idea from you for my blog!!

  4. unfinishedperson

    Uh oh, don’t read the comment above, then about Well of Lost Plots. 😉 Damned Conjuror didn’t like it.

    From what I’ve heard, I’m looking forward to the first three of the series, including Well of Lost Plots. 🙂

  5. Well of Lost Plots is my favourite! I really enjoy the whole series, although the earliest books are best in my opinion. I am waiting very impatiently for his next book!

  6. I loved The Eyre Affair but never got around to reading the sequel. Just more to put on the TBR list!

  7. The Eyre Affair is good, The Well of Lost Plots not so much.

  8. The Jasper Fforde books sound interesting, but maybe just a bit too whimsical for my taste. But ah, to be in St. Mary Mead with the Magnificent Marple! Summer is such a great time to be reading Agatha Christie.

    • unfinishedperson

      Agreed. I’m looking forward to returning there here shortly. As for Fforde, that will have to wait until I get the first one.

  9. You got Fforde 😀
    I just love him, he is so weird

    • unfinishedperson

      The person who recommended him to me has a quirky sense of humor herself. That’s why I was intrigued when she told my wife and I that we should check out this series.

  10. I am looking forward to reading Fforde’s series.

    Enjoy!

    • unfinishedperson

      Diane, somehow I missed your comment earlier. Didn’t mean to ignore you. Thanks for stopping by. It will be a little bit before I get to the Fforde series. Today I’m off to catch up on some Agatha Christie and then probably some reviews tomorrow.