The Sunday Salon: Looking again at Lisa Scottoline

The Sunday Salon.comToday in between visiting with family, I will be reading Lisa Scottoline‘s Look Again. This past week, it was one of two books that I took out of the library, with the other one being Murder at Hazelmoor by Agatha Christie. For more on what I’m reading and have read this week, see my previous post in which I participated in a number of bookish meme groups.

As for Look Again, here’s the premise:

When reporter Ellen Gleeson gets a “Have You Seen This Child?” flyer in the mail, she almost throws it away. But something about it makes her look again, and her heart stops. The child in the photo looks exactly like her adopted son, Will. Could the child in the photo really be her son?

Everything inside her tells her to deny the similarity between her son and the photo, because she knows her adoption was lawful. But she’s a journalist and won’t be able to stop thinking about the photo until she figures out the truth. And she can’t shake the question: if Will rightfully belongs to someone else, should she keep him or give him up?

She investigates, uncovering clues no one was meant to discover, and when she digs too deep, she risks losing her life — and that of the son she loves.

In this emotionally charged, heart-pounding thriller Lisa has broken new ground. LOOK AGAIN questions the very essence of parenthood and raises a moral quandary that will haunt readers long after they have finished the last page, leaving them with the ultimate question, “What would I do?”

— from the book jacket

I’m 72 pages into the 341-page book and despite a few misgivings at first, including if Scottoline could pull off capturing the environment of newspapers in these economic times, I am liking it. She allayed my misgiving within the first few chapters with Gleeson working at a paper where layoffs are happening all around her and she may be next. As a former weekly newspaper editor and a current correspondent with a daily newspaper, I know all too well the demise of print newspapers.

Another misgiving, though, which is extremely short chapters of only a few pages has not been allayed yet. However, it’s a relatively small complaint, in that the story is still moving along well. I’m also slightly disappointed that this is not another Renato & Associates novel as 10 of her 16 novels to date have been, including her 1994 debut, Everywhere That Mary Went.

Like I said, though, I am still enjoying it, mainly because as with most of her novels, Scottoline knows how to hold the reader’s suspense. What will happen next? I don’t know. That’s why I keep reading.

What has you keeping reading this Sunday?

4 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Looking again at Lisa Scottoline

  1. I’ve been kept reading by Sarah Dunant’s SACRED HEARTS. Really, really good historical fiction! 🙂

  2. I’m a former weekly newspaper editor, too. I’ve not read any of Scottoline’s work, but you’ve got me interested now.

    • Just finished this afternoon. Don’t rush to get it. It was all right, but in my final review, I’ll be giving it a three out of five, which in my rating is worth checking out of the library, but not worth owning and definitely is not a classic. If you’re going to read anything by Scottoline, read her earlier work, especially those that are part of her Rosato & Associates series.