Library Loot/Friday Finds Redux: New and improved! Now with a photo!

library-lootfriday-finds

I already did Library Loot hosted by Eva and Marg and Friday Finds hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading with my last post. However, as I mentioned then, my wife had the camera or so I thought (actually it was in my desk drawer, but I didn’t know it). Now that I have the camera, I thought I’d update my loot and finds with the photo and a review of what I’ve read and watched so far this week.

First, here’s the photo:

Library Loot 07-01-09
In addition to what I’ve already finished (The Narrows by Michael Connelly and the movie The Express), I still have left from the library, including several that I took out tonight:

  • The Visitor, a movie that, in short, is about a man who returns to his NYC apartment to find two people living in it and the relationship that develops between him and the couple. For more on the movie, visit the site (click on the link).
  • Milk, for which Sean Penn won a Best Leading Actor Oscar last year for his portrayal as the gay activist Harvey Milk and Dustin Black won a Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen Oscar.
  • Flyboys, which stars James Franco and that’s all my wife needed to know for me to get it from the library.
  • both Connelly’s The Closers and Echo Park, continuing the Harry Bosch series.
  • The Bourne Legacy by Eric Van Lustbader, the continuation of Robert Ludlum’s Bourne series.
  • Emperor: The Gates of Rome by Conn Iggulden, the first of a series about Julius Caesar.
  • Lush Life by Richard Price, who also wrote Clockers and this book, which my wife read when I took it out of the library a couple of months ago (she said it was very good, so now I’m going to see for myself). Price also was a writer on the HBO series The Wire.
  • and four by Agatha Christie: Murder at the Vicarage, Peril at End House, Thirteen at Dinner and Murder on the Orient Express. Sadly, I had to order The Sittaford Mystery, which chronologically comes between the first two mentioned, through interlibrary loan and will have to await reading until it arrives. However, I wanted to have them ready and waiting (okay, I’m obsessed) as part of the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge in which I am participating.

On Tuesday, I already mentioned  the books that my brother-in-law, Warren, loaned me this past weekend:

  • a Parker novel by Richard Stark, The Man with The Getaway Face.
  • another Parker novel by Richard Stark, The Outfit.
  • Lemons Never Lie, another Stark novel.
  • The Cutie by Westlake.
  • Gun Monkeys by Victor Gischler, which was nominated for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel when it came out in 2001.

As for the last book pictured, it is the book that I am reading currently: Last Shot by Gregg Hurwitz. It is the fourth of a series, but Warren, who also loaned me this, told me that it is the faster paced of the first four. So I am going (waaaaay) out on a limb and trusting his judgment on this one. Usually I am a stickler for reading series in order, even before the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, but for you, Warren, I will break my rule (at least this once).

So far, the book is a good one and better than the last book I read: Dead Sleep by Greg Iles that I finished earlier this week. I think I’ve been spoiled by Connelly, but that book by Iles (the first one I’ve read by him) didn’t hold up for me as well as I thought it might when I started it. It was decent, but it was by no means great, and I wouldn’t tell anyone to rush out and pick up a copy. Last Shot is somewhere between good and great at this point, but I’m only about three-quarters of the way through it so I’ll suspend my judgment until the end.

So what have you found at the library this week or just in general that has you obsessed?

10 responses to “Library Loot/Friday Finds Redux: New and improved! Now with a photo!

  1. Pingback: Tuesday Meme Things: Summertime is the right time for crime… « Unfinished Person

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Salon: A dream deferred this week « Unfinished Person

  3. Love the picture! And there’s nothing wrong with a Christie obsession. 😀

  4. Some mighty good stuff in that picture.

  5. Wow! Lots of great books. Enjoy them!

  6. I have Lush Life from the library laying around somewhere. Clockers was excellent plus The Wire is the best TV show. I’ll look out for you review.

  7. Interesting…I didn’t know there was a continuation of the Bourne series. Have you read that one yet? I’d be interested to see what you think of it since it’s written by someone else. I just finished watching the movies based (loosely, I understand) on the books and thoroughly enjoyed them. One of these days, I’d like to pick up the original Ludlum books. Great library haul!

    • unfinishedperson

      Just picked that one up at the library. My mother has read it, but I haven’t yet. The Bourne books are good, but good pulp fiction. Don’t expect Hemingway or Steinbeck from them. 🙂 And I’ll be honest, I did reread one of them recently and I’m not sure if it held up to the test of time or not. I think it was more of a high school thing for me.

      Right now for “pulp fiction,” I’m recommending anything by Donald E. Westlake or one of his alter egos, Richard Stark. He reminds me of Stephen King, except that Westlake can write (King, I think, of more as a good storyteller, but not really that good a writer, IMHO).

  8. thebookresort

    Enjoy your Agatha’s. I am am adding Iles & Connelly to my list, too.

    Enjoy your loot. Thanks for the photos — camera was in the desk the whole time. lol.