June 1: Eight days away from 40th birthday…

…and I’m going backward.

Today I stepped on the scale, the first time in over at least six months and I weighed in at 209 pounds, only 81 pounds from my heaviest weight ever.

Today I also began keeping track of my food again via SparkPeople, thanks to Caitlin, a friend on the site and the continued persistence of another user Teri Kay, and will be getting back into running this week, even if it means walking to start. Thank you, ladies.

No long post here, just time to get back on track.

3 responses to “June 1: Eight days away from 40th birthday…

  1. Welcome back to Spark =0)
    I’ve been bouncing around since my first half marathon. I’m FINALLY at the lowest weight SINCE that point (though I was another 12 pounds down before training). Here’s to us both reaching new lows!

  2. I applaud you for your hard work. It’s never easy to get in shape and it’s certainly not easy to write about it for everyone to see.

    That said, I’ll pass along what I do to keep me motivated. I keep track of everything I do in a calendar I keep in Google Docs.

    For each day, I input my physical activity (and time) as well as calories eaten (I use fitday.com to keep track of my calories).

    I force myself to put SOME form of activity in each day, even if it’s not a major workout. Keeping track of things this way makes it easy for me to see when I go too long without doing anything. Before I kept track, I would forget easily, and those day would sneakily add up.

    I’ve found I get a nerdy form of pleasure in updating this calendar each day, which also motivates me to put something on it. As the days pass, you can really see your effort add up.

    Best of luck to you. I know how hard it is. If you ever need some extra motivation, don’t hesitate to email πŸ™‚

    • Wow. I didn’t expect a response from the “book blogosphere.” I guess even nerds need to keep track of physical activity and calories eaten. πŸ˜‰ But really, thanks for the encouragement. Sometimes it comes from the most unexpected places — and best of luck to you in your continuing efforts.