Holy Rollin’

As I recounted last week, my first encounters with roller skating were less than holy, especially with the music. Subsequent encounters, though, were at least clothed in holy garb as I went with various church youth groups to roller rinks where only Christian music was played.

I will never forget one of my first trips with a church youth group as it also would be the only time in my life that I have broken a bone in my body.

The church to which we were going at the time organize a trip for the youth group to a roller rink about 60 miles away. The rink itself had a wooden floor, but the “dressing room” had a concrete floor for some reason.

As I returned to take off my skates, my feet went out from under me so what did I use to catch myself? An arm, a hand, pray tell?

No, it was a thumb!

I don’t remember how old I was when this happened, but I am not too proud to admit that I cried like a baby (this from the same dude who admitted to getting beaten up by girls younger than he when in elementary school).

Even writing about it, I get a twinge in both of my thumbs as I don’t remember which thumb I broke. I can’t tell, can you?

thumbs

But I digress…as I said the music to which we listened while at these church youth group roller skating parties was Christian music.

Yet it wasn’t hymns, although perhaps that may be with the first group. It even might have been The Oak Ridge Boys before they backslid (not to be confused with this guy’s “backslide”) into country music. We listened to Christian rock music, which as Larry Norman once sang, “Why should the devil have all the good music?”

Later, I would go to these church youth group roller skating parties with Methodist churches from around our county, and eventually because of my interest and an extensive Christian rock collection, they would ask me to make mix tapes.

Amy Grant, Michael W. Smith, DeGarmo & Key, Petra, Mylon Lefevre & Brokenheart, A.D. (a band formed by Kerry Livgren, former guitarist with Kansas), Resurrection Band, Stryper, were among the mainstays.

I’ll leave you with a sampling of what I consider perhaps the triumvirate of Christian rock bands: Petra, Resurrection Band and Stryper.

****

And if in last week’s post, you missed the extra videos I added in there, go back there and click on the photos, especially the second one. It’s a gem not to be missed– really. No weird earworms or anything, I promise.

Humor-Blogs.com

Humor Bloggers

Blogerella

Comments are closed.