Obligatory winter bitching post on National Weatherman’s Day

Sometimes the universe conspires against you. Sometimes it conspires with you. Today is one of those days, it is conspiring with me.

Already I had planned an obligatory winter bitching post, since everyone else is doing it. A few examples will suffice: Chris Cameron at Angry Seafood, Kewl Stuff I Found , Charlie Hatton at Where The Hell Was I?, and The Nemesing One at I’m Sure I Don’t Know, all of whose sentiments with which I heartily agree.

whipping_post_550 The winter bitching post, though, is not to be confused with the picture at left…

…although after this winter, with highs in the teens today, sometimes I feel, sometimes I feel like I’ve been tied, tied to the winter whipping post, tied to the winter whipping post, tied to the winter whipping post, good Lord, I feel like I’m dying.

Plus I had planned to comment on a batch of Campbell Interest and Skill Survey results that I had received, which indicated that I should develop my skills, hidden until now beneath my layers of hatred for winter, as a ski instructor. My comment: F********** no! (which for Mom and Dad, and the International Blogosphere Standards and Practices Department–of whose laws many of you have been breaking wantonly, you know who you are– means “Fahrvenugen No”).

Then this morning, on the way back from taking my wife to work, I heard on the radio that today is National Weatherman’s Day, speaking of people who need to be tied to the whipping post, whatever the season, but especially in winter.

jeffries The man for whom we have all the misinformation to blame, according to legend and the National Weather Service, is this man, John Jeffries, who was born on this day in 1744. “He began taking daily weather observations in Boston in 1774 and he took the first balloon observation in 1784. This is a day to recognize the men and women who collectively provide Americans with the best weather, water, and climate forecasts and warning services of any nation,” the National Weather Service page about National Weatherman’s Day says.

What about the other 99.9 percent who provide the worst weather, water, and climate forecasts and warning services of any nation? What about them? Should we honor them as well? Methinks not.

They should either be tied to a whipping post themselves or be forced to listen repeatedly to the Belgian band The Weathermen down at Punishment Park:

Bitching over until the next cold spell.

Humor-Blogs.com

Humor Bloggers

Blogerella

Comments are closed.