Don’t go and lay your hand on this Pittsburgh Steeler fan

Me in Steeler jacket

That’s me, circa 1979-1980, the years that the Steelers won back-to-back championships with Terry Bradshaw et al.

As you can tell by the gaudy ornaments at right, it was Christmas and I had just donned one of my best Christmas presents that year.

Why I say one of my best Christmas presents is because of this photo, also undated, but that I think might have been the same year as the Steelers jacket photo:

Boom box

Yes, the honky boom box.

This was pre-Do The Right Thing and Radio Raheem:

If I had seen that movie then, I might have wanted that one, but probably not since I was, and am still (didn’t do a reverse Michael Jackson/Kirk Lazarus).

So to what did this Pittsburgh Steeler fan with a honky boom box listen circa 1979-80?

Was it “Le Freak” by Chic (although if it had been this version with Slash, I might have) or “I Will Survive” by Gloria Gaynor, which both were big hits back then?

No, more than likely as per I mentioned last week that I liked country, it was Charlie Daniels Band and most likely “The Devil Went Down To Georgia.”

Spring 1979 was when that was released.

The fall of 1980, though, is when one of my favorite CDB songs, along with “The Legend of Wooley Swamp,” was released.

That song:

And the key lyrics in case you missed it:

And we may have done a little bit
Of fightin’ amongst ourselves
But you outside people best leave us alone
‘Cause we’ll all stick together
And you can take that to the bank
That’s the cowboys and the hippies
And the rebels and the yanks
You just go and lay your hand
On a Pittsburgh Steelers’ fan
And I think you’re gonna finally understand

So if there’s any doubt for whom I’m rooting this Sunday, let that be dispelled now…

…don’t go and lay your hand
on (this) Pittsburgh Steelers’ fan
(because) I think you’re gonna finally understand.

You’ll find out quickly that love doesn’t always win.

If you want to see my prediction on the score, and more silliness on the Big Game, visit Humor Bloggers Fantasy Football League Blog, where Chris Cameron and Matt also weigh in with their predictions.

For more general silliness, visit the following:

Humor-Blogs.com

Humor Bloggers

Blogerella

Comments are closed.