Top 5 CCM/Christian Rock Albums/CD wishlist

These have been my top five Christian contemporary music/Jesus rock/Christian rock albums/CD that I wish I owned for a while. So far, I only have one. If you click on the link, it’s where you can order a copy for yourself.

  1. Tonio K Romeo Unchained
  2. Daniel Amos Darn Floor Big Bite
  3. Resurrection Band
  4. Larry Normal Rebel Poet, Jukebox Balladeer: The Anthology
  5. The 77s by The 77s

I already have picked up the Daniel Amos CD, which was just re-released as a double CD set from Arena Rock Recordings. The liner notes and interviews on the second disc are worth the $17 or $18 for the discs, not to mention the seminal album from 1987, the year I graduated from high school.

This album was unlike anything I was hearing on Christian radio or any other radio for that matter, and it more than holds up to the test of time.

As for the others, Tonio K.’s Romeo Unchained may not be his best, from what I understand, because I haven’t heard all of his albums. However, it is the album for which I remember him. Songs like “I Handle Snakes” and the title track, though, are the songs which are still rattling around in my head all these years later.

Resurrection Band. I couldn’t pick just one of their albums. However, it’s mostly their earlier stuff that stands out.

Larry Norman: No Christian rock collection is complete without Larry Norman and while he’s had a lot of good album, this collection from Arena Rock Recordings looks pretty darned good to me at capturing the essential Father of Christian Rock, who died just last year.

The last one, The 77s by The 77s, is one I’m not having as much luck finding online. If anyone knows where I can find this album,  let me know.

If you’ve never heard of any of these groups, I’m sure if you Google around, you can find out more information on them. They all are worth checking out.

Comments are closed.