Okay, now my seven random things meme

In tribute to slow blogging, I postponed the end of yesterday’s Meandering Monday, which started out as nine random things (of which I got to two), until today (now two days ago by the time I finish this ramble). So without further adieu, seven random things, not necessarily all about me:

1. Yesterday my ninth meandering Monday and 90th post was brought to you by the number 9. Today’s post, my 91st, is brought to you by Messiah College, from where I graduated in 1991 and, I’m sad to say, Monica Goodling graduated in 1995, and where an annual event called Duct Tape Wars takes place I just learned tonight:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DG2QPYBNwc

2. So because I graduated from Messiah College, that must mean I am an über-conservative, right? Well, evidently Bill Wilson, president of Americans of Limited Government believes so, as he sent me (and Johnny B from Late for the Sky) the following “personal” letter (of which I will share the first two paragraphs):

Dear Fellow Blogger,

It is my distinct pleasure, as the president of Americans for Limited Government, to invite you today to become a key member of the exciting new conservative “bloggers central,” NetRightNation.com.

At ALG, we recognize the critical role you as a blogger play in gathering, assimilating, and disseminating news and commentary. And I, personally, am deeply grateful to you for taking the lead in fighting some of the most important battles our country has faced over the past decade, and more.

Most of the time, to be honest, I have steered clear of politics on this blog, with a couple of rare exceptions: Special Election Meandering Monday in which I referred to Sarah Palin as the Anti-Christ (albeit jokingly, but still) and where I announced my moving to a new blog in which I had a photo of our new not-so-conservative president.

As for what I am, if anything, I am definitely not an über-conservative — — neither am I the Anti-Christ, although if I was, do you think I’d tell you?

So with that in mind, I bring you random thing No. 3: I may be the Anti-Christ, but it’s highly doubtful.

Moving quickly on, before that has time to register in the mind of Bill Wilson, to No. 4: I find simple things at school board meetings (which I attend and cover for a local newspaper) funny, or at least mildy amusing. For example, at every school board meeting, the president of the school board asks a question of one of the administrators:

“But is that conversation happening…?”

followed by “about [insert subject matter for the night, tonight what can be done to brought up low scores on standarized tests for the state]”.

The inevitable response from the administrator (tonight, a middle school principal):

“We’re having those discussions…”

followed by “about [insert subject matter]” and “It’s all in process.”

Of course, whenever I think of process, I think of something like this:`

So when they say, it’s “in process” must mean it’s not very complicated and will not require, like it did in the Soviet Union, a five-year plan to implement. Um, yeah.

Which brings me in a roundabout way (what other way is there when you’re a rambler) to No. 5:

5. Speaking of process, my brain doesn’t process sometimes. Like a dork, I made a comment on Kirsten’s blog The Soccer Mom Files about this photo reminding me of some movie:

theshining

And then I had to say it reminded me of Scorcese (sic) and couldn’t even spell Scorsese correctly.

Of course, as my wife often says, I was abducted right at the beginning of the decade when the movie in question came out. As for Kubrick, I never got made it past ape throwing the bone in the air. I was still stuck somewhere in space.

6. Space, the final frontier? When will it be the final Star Trek movie? Geez. Here’s a preview of the latest:

Isn’t it the even numbered ones that are supposed to cool and the odd numbered ones not so cool? I can’t remember.

And finally No. 7: Apropos of nothing, I’m not very good at remembering names of people I’ve met IRL, but remember names of bloggers I’ve never even met: Jenn, Jeff, Diesel, Poobomber (his real name, I think he had it legally changed in Canada), Kathy, Meg, Lobo, Sandy, just to name a few of the regular bloggers I read.

For more funny bloggers like those I just named, visit Humor-Blogs.com and Diesel’s latest boondoggle, I mean, project Blogerella.com.

If you’re not a member, it’s simple to register, you don’t even have to have a blog and you’ll receive no spam– even though, as Monty sings, it is lovely and wonderful.

Comments are closed.