TSS: Back in Black: I’ve been too long, I’m glad to be back

Okay, so it’s been two weeks since I’ve been here. In fact, the last time I was here I was stuck in a reading rut. Since then, I have only started one book: American Gods by Neil Gaiman.

For those of you reading this on a reader, here’s a photo of the cover and a link to Gaiman’s site:

Click cover for information from Gaiman’s site

For those of you who are reading this on my blog, well, you get to see double. Enjoy.

This book, unlike the last book I read (which I won’t even repeat what it was lest I bring the jinx back), is very good. It’s just that I’ve got the wintertime blues. Where we live, we haven’t seen the sun in about two weeks (he says, as he turns on the light, trying not to blind himself, but give himself enough light to “lighten” his spirits).

American Gods, though, is a dark book, though, in comparison to the other books I’ve read by Gaiman: Neverwhere, Stardust and Good Omens, which he co-authored with Terry Pratchett. I’m still enjoying it. I’m just sayin’. 😉

I mean, the book doesn’t start off in a good place, with the main character just getting out of prison and finding out his wife has been killed in an accident, in the midst of a romantic “tryst” with his best friend. I have a feeling it’s not going to get much lighter; I think I might be balancing it out with Hogfather by Pratchett, which is one of the choices of a discussion group in which I’m involved online. It’s called travel the world (from a comfy chair) and is on a site called Book Blogs at Ning.

The other choice is the short story, “A Child’s Christmas in Wales” by Dylan Thomas, which is one of my favorite Christmas stories.

****

Otherwise, this afternoon I’m waking up after volunteering at a hospice last night from 11 to 7 this morning. I slept a little, but it wasn’t exactly restful. It’s hard to have a restful sleep when you’re responsible for someone else. The gentleman, who is staying at the hospice house, has cancer and yesterday, he was put on oxygen and morphine. Most likely he won’t make it until Christmas. It gives you a different perspective on life, that’s for sure.

I’m also listening to the NFL on XM/Sirius, if only they could decide which station the games are on. They keep moving things around and don’t have channels identified correctly.

And for fun, I’m checking out another blogger’s answer to a meme to which I responded earlier in the week on one of my other blogs: an A to Z music meme of favorite artists. Here’s mine, and hers (Leaving Evangeline).

While I haven’t been blogging here, I have been blogging on one of my other blogs: Unfinished Rambler. If you need your spirits lightened during this dark, cold winter, head on over and even if you don’t enjoy my particular brand of what I call humor, you might enjoy some of the links you found there to many of the bloggers that can be found on Humor-Blogs.com.

10 responses to “TSS: Back in Black: I’ve been too long, I’m glad to be back

  1. I adored American Gods a lot. I can say the same for the authors other novels and comics 🙂

  2. I love “A Child’s Christmas in Wales,” too. I usually try to re-read that one every Christmas, along with Washington Irving’s “Christmas at Bracebridge Hall.”

  3. I’m not a Gaiman fan, but ‘American Gods’ was the one book of his that I did, well not ‘enjoy’ but at least found intriguing enough to finish and want to discuss. I hope it goes on well for you.

  4. I like Gaimans work, I hope to read this one soon.

  5. Don’t feel about about not Sunday Saloning in awhile, I don’t think I’ve brought myself to participate since my reading rut over a month ago. Of course, I’m finally just REALLY pulling out of that rut.

  6. I read A Child’s Christmas in Wales for the first time last year – good stuff.

    I couldn’t get into American Gods. Got to one particularly disturbing scene and put it aside. I did, however, love the – well, it’s not really a sequel, do books have spin-offs? – anyway, I loved Anansi Boys, which I hear has some of the same characters.

  7. I’m intrigued by American gods…..

  8. An A-Z music meme? Not sure I could fill everything in…maybe not even half…

  9. I got about a third of the way into American Gods last year, and then stalled, not been able to get back into it since 😦 Which is a shame considering how much I like the rest of his stuff.

  10. I’ve never read Dylan Thomas’s story. I’ve heard of the title, though; thanks for reminding me. I need some more “seasonal” titles!