God Gave Rock and Roll To You

After last week’s Flashback Friday, where I (seemingly) praised the Devil’s music, I thought for this week’s Flashback Friday that I would focus (well, using that word “focus” in the loosest way possible, as you will see by this post that will ramble in a six degrees of separation kind of way) instead on God’s music, or as Larry Norman used to sing, “Why Should The Devil Have All The Good Music?”

As I mentioned last week I grew up with Christian rock, which to some ultra-fundie (fundamentalist) Christians might seem like an oxymoron since rock ‘n’ roll is the devil’s music, but for me I was brought up to believe that God gave rock and roll to you. However, as ex-cellent as that version by Bill and Ted was (click on previous link to see what the hey– gotta watch my language this time around– I’m talking about), thanks to Steve Vai, the version that I remember from my childhood was this one by the Christian rock group Petra:

The lead singer with The Wall-like t-shirt and the sad excuse for a mullet (but nonetheless had more than a pretty decent voice) was Greg X. Volz. He was lead singer for Petra from 1980 to 1985 when he left the band to pursue a solo career and was replaced by John Schlitt, former front man for Head East. (In case, you’ve never heard of them, here’s a song by them you might have heard if you listen to classic rock radio at all.)

Does all of this leaving a band to pursue a solo career and having someone else replace him sound familiar? Yeah, for the Christian rock music world, it was the equivalent of The Great Schism that separated VH, and coincidentally both historical events occurred in 1985.

Another strange coincidence I learned through that great Internet resource, Wikipedia, is that the song above that Volz sang was originally performed by the band Argent.

Argent’s lead singer, Russ Ballard, wrote not only that song, but also “Since You Been Gone” which, while best known possibly for this version done by the group Rainbow, was also performed by Schlitt when he was frontman for Head East.

Weird, huh? I guess as Walt always said:

If you think this is weird or really just need to cleanse your palate after hearing even a snippet of that last video, then you may want to visit Humor-Blogs.com…where you if you’re not a member, it’s simple to register, you don’t even have to have a blog and you’ll receive no spam– even though it is lovely and wonderful.

Comments are closed.