Dim Blog: Conversion from type 'HBDim' to type 'Funny' is not valid

No, not Dim Sum. Dim Blog.

This was one of the hidden slams by Diesel at my blog and other blogs at Humor-Blogs.com when we try to click on one of those smilies and get instead a page that begins Server Error in ‘/’ Application. For more on the phenom and where I completely stole my idea for this blog post (since I can’t come up with anything original on my own [1]), see Lobo’s analysis of the global blogging crisis (well, at least to those of us on Humor-Blogs.com).

Those two words were hidden in line 20 and funny thing (or not so funny because it really ruined my entire day since my existence revolves around seeing how many clicks I get on Humor-Blogs.com [2] and in turn clicking on Lobo and other funny bloggers like him, of course) is when I tried to click on a post, I got a message on line 19, that said: “Dim Post.” It doesn’t matter which post, any of them, I get the same message. Hey, if you don’t like my posts, that’s one thing, but then to call me “dim” on top of that? I call that unfair.

Or maybe I can put it in words you understand, Diesel.


 InvalidCastException: Conversion from type 'HBDim' to type 'Funny' is not valid.]
  Microsoft.VisualBasic.CompilerServices.Conversions.ToInteger(Object Value) +1174
  Dim.Blog..ctor(Int32 BlogID, HttpRequest Request, HttpResponse response) +696
   BlogProfile.Page_Load(Object sender, EventArgs e) in D:\INETPUB\291\BlogProfile.aspx.vb:20
   System.Web.UI.Control.OnLoad(EventArgs e) +99
   System.Web.UI.Control.LoadRecursive() +47
   System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint Read: DIM BLOG) +143


[1] No, it’s true. See Exhibit A, Exhibit B and worse, Exhibit C (where I steal from my own wife and Shirley & Co.).

[2] No, sadly, that’s true too. That and napping with my cat. Ask my wife and my sister. Plus just figure in the time it actually took me to put together this post with all the links (and parenthetical remarks like this: dim post + dim blog = dim bulb).

Addendum: 10/31: 8:20 AM: EDT The Great Pumpkin has arrived a little bit early and graced us with Humor-Blogs.com votes now working. Oh, thank you, Great Pumpkin and oh, you too, Diesel. šŸ™‚

7 responses to “Dim Blog: Conversion from type 'HBDim' to type 'Funny' is not valid

  1. Dim blogs – dim blogs – dim dry blogs…
    I hate getting error messagse when I click. It makes me think there’s something wrong with my browser.
    I’m glad it’s all fixed now. Diesel Rocks!

  2. unfinishedrambler

    Tricia: Not to be immodest šŸ˜‰ but I’ve had funnier posts.

    Meg, Don, Lobo, Muskrat: It just struck me funny about the Dim Blog comment in the code, and I felt like I had to say something. I wasn’t sure if I should, but after Lobo did, I figured why not? Plus sometimes you just have to laugh. Nothing anywhere on any site ever works perfectly, but if I hadn’t been on this site, I wouldn’t have met you and so many other great bloggers. I’ve said that so many times that it probably sounds like I’m campaigning for something, but I’m not. I make no money off this site and highly doubt I will in the future. It truly is a joy to meet those like yourself, Diesel, Lobo, Muskrat, Meg, Don and so on. I truly mean that.

    And ‘Skrat: I did add an addendum that it was working for me also today, and I don’t doubt that it is a lot of work to maintain not just his own personal site, but also now two directories of blogs.

    Diesel: If you ever should read this, thank you for all you do, seriously. I am glad to have met you and all the people I have at Humor-Blogs.com, many whom are in my blogroll at right.

  3. i think he fixed it. at least, it’s working for me today! must be a lot of work to maintain a site that gets so much traffic each day, right?

  4. The really funny thing is a few months ago, I logged on and saw “The Humor-Blogs upgrade is complete!” banner. Man I just KNEW we were in trouble! lol

    I’m still sorting out what works and what doesn’t … and I miss that nice big “Recent Visitors” banner … it was handy to see who was blowing by quickly without having to stalk your readers with tracking widgets … šŸ˜¦

  5. I’m sum dim wit too…

  6. I guess we’re all dim wits in this together. šŸ˜‰

  7. I had just written my first post that would link to Humor-Blogs. Guess it will have to wait.

    Funny post. (like you didn’t know that)