Booking Through Thursday: Breaking spines and earing dogs (?)

Mariel suggested this week’s questions: Are you a spine breaker? Or a dog-earer? Do you expect to keep your books in pristine condition even after you have read them? Does watching other readers bend the cover all the way round make you flinch or squeal in pain?

As much as I’d like to say I treat books with the umtost care, it’s just not true. Sometimes they fall on the floor in my home office and I don’t pick them up for days (okay, weeks). Also we have a cat who likes to knock them off bookshelves where they also remain on the floor (I won’t show you the pictures, they’re not pretty for those of you who are true book aficionados who prefer their books in pristine condition). So no when other readers bend the cover all the way round, it doesn’t bother me in the least — unless I’m working at the bookstore, it’s a customer and it could be one of their books. My books, though? Go ahead, bend away. They’re probably going to end up that way sooner or later anyway.


But if you do break a spine (yours or one of mine) and want to fix it, I did find this online on how to fix it.
The more you know (cue music).

9 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Breaking spines and earing dogs (?)

  1. I have answered this question via some other blogs, I’m sure! I mistreat books terribly when I feel I have to, but they don’t mind, because I read them and treasure them. .. 🙂

  2. Anne Fadiman addresses this question in Ex Libris — she categorizes the book handlers into 2 groups: the courtly lovers and the carnal lovers.

  3. Wonder why all cats seem to think all bookshelves should be completely cleared of books? We’re cat-less at the moment, but back when we had kitties, we almost always had more books on the floor than on the shelves. I guess it’s just a cat thing.

  4. Mine leave my hands usually in pretty good condition. I use book marks, never bend the covers back or strain the spine. But one that I got from the library the other day was about as tattered as they come. When they arrive in that condition, they don’t look loved, just abused!

  5. My well thumbed copies of children’s books are all dog-eared and with broken spines. I still love those books to bits. Yes, now I am more careful. I try to keep my books pristine. But if any of my nephews and nieces wish to borrow any of my books, I am ready to give out without any long lectures! As long as they don’t spill food on my books!

    Conditioning, anyone?!

  6. Aargh…I can hear Hubby and you clinking glasses (or beer mugs) together in honour of this post and I’m biting my nails in sympathy for the poor books…

  7. I’m a person who has changed from one extreme to the other. Please come visit and see my answer.

  8. As I said in my post, what others do to their books is their business. Whatever makes you happy is a good thing! Pick and choose your stressors.

  9. Books should be handled with care and gentleness, just like cradling a baby in the crook.