The Sunday Salon: Up, up and away: 12,000 views and counting

The Sunday Salon.com Today’s reading will consist primarily of The Last Days of Krypton by Kevin J. Anderson, a book that I was given by The Literate Housewife in her First Comment, First Served-October Edition. I started it earlier in the weekend and so far, so good. I will be posting a review later in the week when I finish it, and later today I will give an update on my progress today in between listening to how my fantasy football team is doing. I also will be giving a short review of my week, including a new rating system here.

_________________________________________________

On Monday, I celebrated my 200th post and over 12,000 views. In honor of that, I am giving away books to the first 10 people who commented on my blog, and the top four commenters, all of whom commented more than 20 times. The books I chose were those that I gave a 10 out of 10 or 5 out of 5 out of books I’ve read this year (the reason I’m updating my rating, to make it consistent and clearly-defined).

So far, those who have claimed books under the “rules” of the giveaway,
are:

  1. Rebecca @ Adventures in Reading, who was my first commenter: The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
  2. Jessica @ The Bluestocking Society, who has commented 27 times (and counting) on my blog: Sailing Alone Around The Room: New and Selected Poems by Billy Collins
  3. Gautami @ Reading Room, with 25 comments: Rumpole and the Penge Bungalow Murders by John Mortimer
  4. Trish @ Trish’s Reading Nook, with 23 comments, and there from the very beginning:The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
  5. Ann @ Table Talk, with 23 comments also, and whom I’ve met here at the Sunday Salon: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling.

Nine books are left to the following nine individuals: Rebecca (only e-mail given), John Mutford @ The Book Mine Set, Swimanog, Lezlie @ Books ‘N Border Collies, Beastmomma, Aaron @ That’s The Book, Heather @ Book Addiction, J. Kay Martin (only e-mail given) and Lightheaded @ everyday reads.

The nine books are:

  1. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  2. Left To Tell: Discovering God Amidst the Rwandan Holocaust by Immaculee Ilibagiza with Steve Erwin
  3. 180 More: Extraordinary Poems For Every Day, edited by Billy Collins
  4. Sister Pelagia and The White Bulldog by Boris Akunin
  5. Look Homeward, Angel by Thomas Wolfe
  6. Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  7. The Giver by Lois Lowry
  8. Black Boy by Richard Wright
  9. Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes

As per my original post: “By Saturday morning, if not earlier, I will send out an e-mail to the remaining nine individuals on what’s left and then it will be on a “first requested, first got” basis. If I don’t hear from the remaining nine individuals by Oct. 31 at 11:59 p.m., Eastern Daylight Time, I will open the remaining books to a drawing within the next week.”

To make it fair, I’m asking that the nine left ask for the books in the comments on the post, starting this afternoon. If you see a book is already taken (ahead of you in the comments), select another one, please.

A reminder: I also have a copy of a 20th anniversary edition of The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, which includes a reader’s guide and interview with Coelho. While I did not enjoy it, I am sure one of you among the 14 might enjoy it. This will be given to the first one of you among the 14 who lays claim to it.

17 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Up, up and away: 12,000 views and counting

  1. Thanks again for the book! I’m really looking forward to it.

  2. Well..here goes for Slaughterhouse Five, if still available.. everyone is so cryptic ..(so it goes..is that a yes of no from Trish?) …if yes, The Giver, for me…if no, Slaughterhouse for me…thanks

    I still offer my novel ‘Uncorrected Proof’ in return, just let me know where to sent it to if you would like it…

  3. Congratulations on your two milestones!
    I recently won a copy of The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, and I look forward to reading it.

  4. Slaughter House Five rocks. I read it years ago, and so it goes…….

  5. First, thank you to one and all for stopping by and visiting today. I was away from the computer today, listening to football on the radio and playing Scrabble with the wife this evening. So I apologize for not getting back to all of you, but I appreciate all your well-wishes and I’ll do my best to stop by at your blogs in the next couple of days.

    After today, these are the four books that have been claimed in addition to the five mentioned above: Sister Pelagia and the White Bulldog (Beastmomma), Johnny Tremain (John), Black Boy (Heather) and Left To Tell (Lezlie). Still waiting to hear from Rebecca and J. Kay Martin, both of whom I’ve e-mailed, but both from whom I haven’t heard back, as well as Swimanog, Aaron and Lightheaded. I originally did hear back from Swimanog, but unfortunately Swimanog, the Rumpole was already claimed. Sorry. You all have until Friday, Oct. 31, at 11:59 p.m. EDT at which time if I haven’t heard from y’all, I’ll throw the books into an open drawing for everyone else.

  6. Great idea for a giveaway (and mighty generous too)! Happy 12,000 views!

  7. I’m sorry! I emailed my response a few days ago. I didn’t realize you wanted them posted here. My first choice was “Black Boy”, the second was “Left To Tell”.

    Thanks again!
    Lezlie
    Books ‘N Border Collies

  8. I’d love “Black Boy”. Thanks again 🙂

  9. Well, looks like I’m first, so I’ll pick the Boris Akunin book. Though it was a tough call between that and Tremain and 180 poems.

  10. Well done on the 200th post

  11. Congrats on both milestones! I agree with Kim, comments are one of the best parts of blogging – both getting them and leaving them!

  12. I just discovered blogging last summer….It’s so much fun!

  13. Thanks again for the book. I’m really glad to have the US edition of the Harry Potter. The differences between that and the original are really fascinating.

  14. Literary Feline: Congratulations on your 500th post…I think Johnny Tremain was middle school reading. Whenever it was, it was a very good book and still is.

    Kim: Agreed.

    Beastmomma: Of course, I think ALL OF THEM are interesting since I gave them all excellent ratings. 😉 I did see on the other post, you selected Sister Pelagia and The White Bulldog. I hope you’ll enjoy it.

  15. Okay, I need to get on the ball with selecting my choice. It’s just that all of them sound interesting 🙂

  16. Congrats, 200 posts is awesome! And over 12,000 comments is even better getting interesting comments and having conversations via blog posts is probably my favorite part of keeping my own blog.

  17. Congratulations on reaching your 200th post! I reached 500 today. I still can’t believe it. I just noticed Johnny Tremain on your list of books you are giving away. That sure brings back memories! I read that when I was in middle school, if I remember correctly. It was a good story. Have a fantastic week!