That’s the way, uh-huh uh-huh, I like it

The first time I heard KC & The Sunshine Band was in second grade in 1975 on a record player. For those of you too young to remember, a record player looked (and still do, if you can find them) like this:

recordPlayer1

KC_and_the_Sunshine_Band_album_cover

Now that we were listening to this album might not have been so shocking — well besides the fact that we were in second grade listening to the original bump-n-grind music– except where I grew up was Pennsylvania. Specifically, I was born and raised in a rural part of the state where the main (no, only) ethnicity was white as a Saltine cracker box except for the occasional black Sambos in people’s yards. LawnJockeySambo

(Just for clarification while KC was a white guy, Harry Wayne Casey, but as you can see from the video above, his band was made up of a multitude of ethnicities. Strangely enough, later, as teens, we dug this rap group too that literally broke down walls and this artist.)

The girl who introduced our class to the new LP she had just gotten, I think, for Christmas, was none other than one of my nemeses: Robyn Richards, whom I’ve mentioned previously after getting spanked by Leigh from Leighonline in Humor Blogs Fantasy League Football.

Robyn would beat up on me regularly. She would sit on me and spank me, which I think I liked it in a totally (yeah, right) prepubescent non-sexual way. Now in retrospect, I think maybe that’s the way, uh-huh, uh-huh, I liked it.

_____________________________________________________

Put your boogies shoes on and make your way over to Humor-Blogs.com to vote and then check out some of the other humor bloggers there that will make you (shake, shake, shake) shake your booty.

5 responses to “That’s the way, uh-huh uh-huh, I like it

  1. I loved that song, but I’m a lot younger than you are. I was in first grade.

  2. I was in love with KC in the 70s! So dreamy! And funky. In a way that a 12-year-old thinks is funky.

  3. My first “record” as a kid was a single. I used to have to place the plastic insert into the record. It was a childrens song called “little black sambo.” No joke.

    This is eerie.

  4. Holy crap.

    I am so seriously disturbed right now.

    I went numb and now I feel quite ill.

    Really.

    You are a FREAK.

  5. You will laugh where I heard this song for the first time– I remember in the early 80s, George the Handyman, from the Bob Newhart show singing it on an episode. I’d had NO idea it was a real song until afterwards– making it all the more funny.