What am I blogging for if not for you?

A post by DrowseyMonkey this morning got me thinking about why am I blogging? My answer– for all one of you, my loyal lone faithful blog reader– is this:

What am I blogging for if not for you,
What am I blogging for if not for you,
What am I blogging for if not for you,
oh nobody else, nobody else will do

What am I longing for each lonely night,
To see you click on my blog before I turn off the light
You’ll be the only blog reader my whole life through,
Oh nobody else, nobody else will do

I want you reading my blog that’s all I know,
I want you all the time (checking out my blog)
because loyal lone faithful blog reader
I love you so

What am I blogging for if not for you,
What am I blogging for if not for you,
What am I blogging for if not for you,
Loyal lone faithful blog reader, nobody else, nobody else will do

What am I blogging for if not for you,
Loyal lone faithful blog reader, nobody else will do
nobody else, nobody else will do

— adapted from Chuck Willis’s “What Am I Living For,”
words and music by Fred Jay and Art Harris

and when I say Chuck Willis, I don’t mean this Chuck Willis (excuse the language or not; didn’t even deserve to be embedded), I mean the original Chuck Willis who sang the original song (not the Van Morrison version, which admittedly I haven’t heard but I don’t wanna, so there– blech):

[Ignore the video, which is OK, and just listen to the song, which is the real deal.]
__________________________________________________

And even though I’m not all about the clicks I receive on Humor-Blogs.com, loyal lone faithful blog reader, because I blog only for you, every click you put at Humor-Blogs.com helps this guy not wonder what he is blogging for.

Meanwhile, if you’re looking for the original and not another cover or parody like this, the Original “Chi” Gangsta is back in da house laying down some new posts.

8 responses to “What am I blogging for if not for you?

  1. Pingback: Dim Blog: Conversion from type ‘HBDim’ to type ‘Funny’ is not valid « unfinished rambling(s)

  2. thanks for the ode. i know it was directed at me in my heart of hearts.

  3. For some reason, I now have a strong compulsion to hang out in a smoky bar, just drinking beers and feeding the jukebox.

  4. I love when I inspire, LOL

  5. Oh this was just beautiful. I’m so emotional now. I can’t handle it. Must go cry.

    *sniff* *sniff*

    yeah, whatever. 🙂

  6. I kinda liked that song.

    And YEAH. What Jenn said.

  7. That song makes me feel like slow dancing (after some Zima).

  8. You may find there are more folks out there than you know. Sometimes we’re just quiet and lurky. But we do read. And we do visit. 🙂