The Sunday Salon: Freadom! continued

The Sunday Salon.com For this week’s Sunday Salon, I return to a book I had planned to read during my personal Banned Books Week challenge of a book a day during that week. However, I had to order it on interlibrary loan and it didn’t arrive in time. Actually I had forgotten that I had ordered it and so when I received it, it came as a bit of a surprise.

The book is The Freedom Writers Diary: How A Teacher And 150 Teens Used Writing To Change Themselves And The World Around Them by The Freedom Writers with Erin Gruwell. freedom writers diary cover

I had wanted to see the movie when it first came out on DVD, but hadn’t had the chance yet. For Banned Books Week, I had put the movie in my Netflix queue. Last week, it arrived, so now I want to read the book first and then watch the movie which will also qualify for a Lit Flicks Challenge in which I am participating.

On a side note, so far out of the original books and movies I have chosen to read and watch for that particular challenge, I have not read or watched a single movie that I had planned to read. So far, I’ve read and watched The Outsiders and Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. In retrospect, I realize I also have read three others that were made into movies, Slaughterhouse-Five, The Chocolate War and Johnny Tremain— so technically I have completed the challenge.

Another one I’ve read, The Giver, I have since learned is, and has been since 1994, in the planning stages to be made into a movie. Tentatively, the movie is scheduled to be released in 2011 with Jeff Bridges. While no official trailer is available yet, I did find one on YouTube, which inventively uses Harry Potter movies for a trailer. I’ll leave you with it until I return later this afternoon to share some of my thoughts on the Freedom Writers book.

6 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Freadom! continued

  1. Ha ha. I haven’t read a single book or watched a single movie off of my original Lit Flicks Challenge list either. I think part of the problem is that almost every book I read has been made into a movie. 🙂

  2. Hey Readin’ Fool – I know you hate memes, but I’m tagging you anyway. Way back when, you asked if my name was the pen name for a crime novelist. No, but here’s a partial answer.

    http://trixiejames.blogspot.com/2008/10/tag.html

  3. I loved the movie “Freedom Writers,” and have the book on my tbr list. Thanks for reminding me!

    I just read a review of “The Giver.” I’ve never read it, but now I’m doubly curious. I’m putting it on my list.

  4. I read the Freedom Writers Diary and really enjoyed it but I haven’t seen the movie.

    I am so far behind with the lit flicks challenge. I’ve read a couple of books that qualify, but haven’t watched any films yet.

  5. I will check out the Writers Diary.

    I was busy reading for the 24 hour read-a-thon! Now I think I will not read for a week!

    I read 7.5 books! (1709 pages)

  6. I don’t know ‘The Freedom Writers Diary’ but it sounds interesting. I’m off to look for a copy.