Friday Finds: Deciphering Dr. Who and reinventing Superman

For today Friday Finds, I turn to two sources:

  1. British writer Clare Dudman whom I discovered through The Sunday Salon and her blog Keeper of the Snails.
  2. A man who was at the bookstore I work this morning by name of Charles Brown.

Science of Dr. Who coverI’ll start with Clare, because this is one I’ve been meaning to mention for a while. The book is called The Science of Dr. Who by Paul Parsons.

From the first moment she started blogging about it back in the beginning of September, I knew it would be a book I would like to read. Of course, I “grew up” on Dr. Who, especially with the inimitable Tom Baker, who to me (and to Clare, if I remember correctly) is the definitive Doctor.

For more of Clare’s thoughts on the book and an interview with Parsons when he was at a book festival, click here.

Kingdom Come cover Charles, meanwhile, was at our bookstore this morning. He was in a nearby town in our county to visit his daughter and stopped by the bookstore to pick up some books to read while he’s traveling back and forth between the Aleutian Islands where he works as an engineer.

While there, he mentioned Kingdom Come by Elliot S. Maggin, based off the graphic novel by Mark Waid and Alex Ross. I’ve been getting into graphic novels lately and Charles said he thought this one fleshed out the characters even more than in the graphic novel. It involves Superman, Wonder Woman and the Justice League. Beyond that, I know little about it, except, of course, written in 1996, it takes the characters in different directions. Since I have a book called The Last Days of Krypton by Kevin J. Anderson being sent to me by The Literate Housewife on the condition I review it (okay, if you twist my arm ;), I thought the Maggin book would fit in nicely.

2 responses to “Friday Finds: Deciphering Dr. Who and reinventing Superman

  1. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You 10/18/08 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Thanks for the mention! I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did.