The Sunday Salon: Of a soul, small things, Kavalier, Clay…and Kenny G?

The Sunday Salon.com I wasn’t very active this week here on my blog or in my reading, but I did read two books: Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes (review here) for my feature Monday’s Memory and The Story of A Soul: The Autobiography of Saint Therese of Lisieux, which I just finished late last night and for which I plan to have a review much later today.

As for reading today, I plan to start The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy, which I’m reading for three different challenges and for a group on Book Blogs on Ning of which I’m a member called travel the world (from a comfy chair). The discussion forum on the book can be found here, if you’d like to join us. Discussion begins Oct. 15.

I have a few on standby as well:

  • The Freedom Writers Diary by The Freedom Writers with Erin Gruwell (a late entry for Banned Books Week
  • The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon (which I’ve already started but put on hold for other books)
  • Superman for Tomorrow: Volumes 1 and 2 by Brian Azzarello, Jim Lee and Scott Williams (two graphic novels from my hometown library).

I’ll be back much later today with the review of St. Therese’s autobiography and perhaps a follow up post on my reading for the day. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with this bit of comedy from Jenn at Of Cabbages and Kings: If TV Guide Wrote Classic Book Summaries

…and this piece of doggerel I wrote earlier for a new feature at one of my other blogs, Unfinished Rambling(s), called Flashback Friday which I reminisced about That Time I Took My College Roommate To See Kenneth Gorelick (Kenny G).

8 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Of a soul, small things, Kavalier, Clay…and Kenny G?

  1. I’ve got The God of Small Things on my radar, too. I hope that you enjoy it. I’m also interested in your review of The Story of a Soul. I’ve always loved her.

  2. I will be very interested to read your thoughts on The God of Small Things which I absolutely loved, and some other readers did not! I agree with Clare (above) who wrote: the descriptions and the way the story unfurls I thought superb. I would read another book by her in a second!

    http://www.caribousmom.com

  3. I keep meaning to look at The Freedom Writers Diary. It seems right up my alley. Thanks for the reminder.

    Today is only my second Sunday Salon, stop by and say hi!

  4. God of Small Things is one of my favourite books of all time…the descriptions, and the way the story unfurls I thought superb. I read once that Ms Roy had declared she would never write another book – but now, I think, she has. So I’m very pleased.

  5. Enjoyed the Gods of Small Things, which I also read a while ago now, so hapy to join in. Yes, the Salon seems quiet today, but then in England the weather is glorious and we really should be outside enjoying it! However, I managed to put something up.

  6. I have not read The Gods of Small things. I will. One of these days.

    SS is where the action is

  7. I have several books on the go – I can’t settle on just one.

    I enjoyed The God of Small Things when I read it a few years ago. I’m looking forward to reading what you think of it.

  8. Sunday salon seems to have been a bit quiet today.
    I’ve been reading THE YIDDISH POLICEMEN’S UNION but have found it slow going. There’s a lot of pretty intense writing and I’ve found myself reading some passages twice, sometimes more. There’s a quirky sense of humour too and you find yourself reading carefully so you don’t miss anything. Twas 400+ pages too – I have about 30 to go.