The Sunday Salon: Finding the Sorcerer’s Stone and this and that

The Sunday Salon.com I just finished a review of Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five and now I’m writing this final Sunday Salon post of the day. So it goes.

Earlier today, I said I would be diving into Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, for my Personal Banned Book Week Challenge: A book a day in honor of Banned Books Week, which runs from this past Saturday, Sept. 27 until this coming Saturday, Oct. 4. And so I did and finished it with plenty of time to spare.

Since the Vonnegut review took a little more time tonight than I anticipated, and I still want to watch the movie Freedom Writers in honor of Banned Books Week, my brief review of the Harry Potter book will be coming tomorrow. However, I will share one quick thought about it now, which is probably not new to those who have read it: The book (as I’m sure all the books are) is much better than the movie. It is rare that a movie lives up to a book and this certainly is, and was, the case with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. From the very first introduction of the Dursleys, I knew this was not the same as the movie.

As for the book being challenged, I was over three-quarters through the book when I had this astonishing thought: “And people wanted to ban this book? Huh?” And then I had a very evil thought that they also probably would like to ban: “WTF?” Personally, as someone who grew up in a Christian home, I didn’t– and don’t– understand the objections. Like many of those who protested the movie The Last Temptation of Christ didn’t see the movie, I think those who protested the book didn’t actually read it either (of course, I think if any of those protestors actually had seen that particular movie, I think they would have laughed off the disciples with the Brooklyn accents right away and realized that it didn’t deserve any hype, period — just my opinion, but that’s another subject for another time).

For more of my thoughts on the book, see my review, which will be coming sometime tomorrow.

This and that

This:

  • This past Monday, I began a new feature called Monday’s Memory, in which I will focus on a book each Monday that I read years ago, but only now after starting this book blog am I remembering them. I will reread them and see if they live up to my memory. The first book for this feature was In The Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak, and appropriately a great lead-in for Banned Books Week, as it has been on the list of most frequently challenged books.
  • This past Friday, I wrote this post for Friday’s Finds: Rex Libris: I, Librarian and Superman of Tomorrow, which highlighted a graphic novel I found about a superhero librarian. For real? Yep.
  • On my rambling blog, unfinished rambling(s), last Sunday, I continued  with a theme from the previous week with a tongue-in-cheek look at South Korean culture, with this time I give a critique of Korean commercials in Actress 서우 Seo Woo: A fine example of South Korean culture.
  • This past Thursday, I shared on that same blog how Infatuation hurts, wounds, scars, marks, as I remembered my top three infatuations and more schlock rock from the 70s and 80s.

That:

First some serious stuff about that financial crisis about which we keep hearing on TV that a friend from South Korea shared with me (and I’ll be honest I haven’t read yet, but he’s keeping up on it more than I am so I trust his judgment):

And then a few posts that hopefully may make you laugh, or at least make you smile, some even about that same financial crisis:

And last, but least…I’ve redone the tabs here at Just A (Reading) Fool to make it a little less cluttered. I’ve also cleaned up the sidebar on a few of the blogs, plus added a sticky note that explains the connection among the blogs on each blog. This way, hopefully, you’ll be able to see the connection (if tenuous, with unfinished ramblings) among them.

7 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Finding the Sorcerer’s Stone and this and that

  1. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You 10/4 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Enjoy your book a day celebration of banned books week. I haven’t read Slaughterhouse Five since high school, although I remember liking it. I hope The Outsiders is going well for you.

  3. hey, I know you aren’t into awards…so I just gave you one 🙂 It is yours and you do not need to nominate, post or even thank me…just wanted you to know that I enjoy reading what you write, that’s all.

  4. I think that many Christians hear that there is witchcraft in Harry Potter and that’s it for them. They don’t take the time to read the book and see that it is harmless.

    I agree that the books are better than the movies. There is SO much in the books that it would probably cost a fortune in special effects to reproduce.

  5. I’ve never understood the knee-jerk reactions of censorship in any of its forms, but particularly book banning, and particularly in matters of religion. If someone’s faith is weak enough that it could be damaged or destroyed by reading about something different, then I think the problem is with the faith, not with the book.

  6. I got some flack when I read the HP books — someone actually told me that a “good Christian would avoid them”. Good thing I’ve never claimed to be a good Christian, then.

  7. I think the idea of revisiting books is a great idea – I’ve been thinking of doing that lately, too. Having it as a regular feature on your blog is also interesting – I’ll be checking back tomorrow to see what’s up.