Booking Through Thursday: The most unusual book I’ve ever read

This week’s Booking Through Thursday questions from Marie from The Boston Bibliophile: What was the most unusual (for you) book you ever read? Either because the book itself was completely from out in left field somewhere, or was a genre you never read, or was the only book available on a long flight… whatever? What (not counting school textbooks, though literature read for classes counts) was furthest outside your usual comfort zone/familiar territory?

I know this might be cheating a bit, because I just wrote about it in a new feature called Monday’s Memory, but probably the most unusual book I ever read was In The Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak. For my thoughts on the book, visit here. It’s just one of those books that has stuck in my mind, even decades later and even now it’s still a little out of my comfort zone (I mean, it’s about a naked little boy– eh, not really into that). Appropriately, as Heather Johnson from Age 30: A Year in Books mentioned in the comments Monday, the book is also a great lead in to Banned Books Week, which starts this Saturday.

So what was yours?

One response to “Booking Through Thursday: The most unusual book I’ve ever read

  1. The Night Kitchen sounds interesting. I’ll be celebrating Banned Books Week all week at The Book Lady’s Blog, if you’d like to join the fun.