The Sunday Salon: Hoping to have another amazing Sunday

I’m beginning my Sunday Salon today with the book with which I planned to get started last Sunday, but really did not do so. That book is The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon. I’m not going to lie but I had a hard time getting into it, but I just got to one of the most amazing chapters I think I’ve read in any book in a long while so I’m hanging on. I’ll write more later in the day about my experiences thus far with the book, including the chapter about which I’m talking, and any other reading I manage to do today to keep mostly on topic here: about actual reading.

Before then I’m going to go…

Slightly off topic: A review of my week

and even a little further off topic but fun

On my blog Unfinished Rambling(s), I posted Springtime for Hitler in South Korea, which started with a conversation I had with a friend from South Korea who told me about an ad there using Nazi imagery. So far, it’s been my most popular post on that blog, thanks to friend Jenn Thorson from Of Cabbages and Kings submitting it to Reddit. It just struck me as odd and something about which I had to post.

So what are you reading today? I’ll be checking in with many of you later, but if you want to drop a line here about what you’re reading, that’s fine too. I look forward to connecting with some of you later either here or on your blogs or both– after I do a little reading this afternoon.

14 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Hoping to have another amazing Sunday

  1. Literary Feline: Still slow, but that’s all right. I’ve got some other books on which I’m working. It’s good, but just not fast-moving.

    Alyce: I’ve heard both of those books are good. The Translator sounds intriguing.

    Bookchronicle: Yeah, I’m finding that.

    Suey: I think I might have mentioned it if you scroll back in the comments. Chapter 8, about the origins of The Escapist.

  2. I’m looking forward to hearing about the amazing chapter. Did you write about already and I missed it? But anyway, I’m really curious to know what chapter it is!

  3. I have had similar problems with Chabon. Definitely has some worthwhile writing but it can require some digging.

  4. Thanks for visiting my blog! If I had to make one recommendation from the books that I’ve read recently I would say “The Sugar Queen” by Sarah Addison Allen for fiction, and “The Translator” by Daoud Hari for non-fiction. It is hard to pick just one, I’ve read some great books lately!

  5. My husband really liked the The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, and I hope to read it eventually too. Hopefully it will continue to pick up for you.

    Have a great week!

  6. unfinishedperson

    Kerrie: I haven’t read the Yiddish Policemen’s Union. I tried it about six months ago, but couldn’t get into it. To be honest, Kavalier and Clay wasn’t a quick start for me either. I’m still just getting into it, about 150 pages into it.

    Frumiousb: Well, there, then I’m not the only one who had a time getting into it…thanks for the comment on the post on Springtime on HItler in South Korea. I just hope I didn’t come across as too much of an ugly American, because my friend actually has found quite a lot of good there– including his wife.

    Laura: I noticed that, that you finished it. I already have bookmarked it so when I write my review I can link to yours as well…the chapter to which I was referring was Chapter 8, where the mythology of The Escapist takes shape. Beautifully done.

    Gautami: You’re everywhere this weekend, or I’m just hanging out where you are, I guess. Sorry to tell you about yet another book. It’s awful, isn’t it? 😉 I’ll be coming over to visit you here– again, shortly. You’re also in my reader so I don’t miss you anyway. 🙂

    Clare D: I understand about being putting off by the length. I recently finished Great Expectations and had to take a break with a shorter one, Amish Grace– even though the subject matter was heavy. I’m also most likely going to mix in another book or two while I’m reading Kavalier and Clay today. I just haven’t decided what.

    Janet: Thanks. With five blogs, most of the times I don’t keep up with them. But if I can keep up with even one, I feel like I’ve accomplished a little bit of something– blogging-wise.

    Ann: I think to be honest, I’ve been reading a lot of “light” fare and so when I get to a writer like Chabon where it takes attention, I flounder. This afternoon, after surfing the Salon a bit, I’m going to “hunker down” and focus.

    Seachanges: Oh, believe me, I understand about a pile being so high, but I’m learning to adapt. For example, this book will count toward two of the reading challenges in which I am involved so I will substitute there. I’m somewhat learning to go with the flow, which means sometimes challenges fall to the way side, but I think that’s all right. My reading isn’t a homework assignment. 🙂

  7. Nice to see you back and reading – reading lots. I have not kept up well this week but have managed to post my own meagre contribution. Will check out the Chabon, but my pile is soooooooo high.

  8. I still haven’t got round to the Chabon, but it’s interesting and useful to know that it might take some getting into. I shall give it more attention than I otherwise might.

  9. You’ve had a productive week! Thanks for this post filled with intriguing links.

  10. Don’t tell me! Keep that book away. Let me stick to my resolution of not buying until 2009 is over!

    😀

    PS: Come read my short stories, all review links compiled in one geeky post:

    http://readingandmorereading.blogspot.com/2008/09/weekly-geeks-18-intentionssummary.html

    PPS: I can solicit a visit from you, can’t I?!

    😉

  11. Just thinking about what to read next, and the Chabon is in the pile! Just took a picture. I am put off a little by its apparent length (compared with the rest), but then I’ve heard such good reports!

  12. I just finished Kavalier and Clay last night, here’s my review: http://laura0218.livejournal.com/62506.html

    I didn’t expect to like it as much as I did! Writing the review was difficult because of the novel’s broad, sweeping scope. I’m curious about which chapter you found so amazing; there were a few of those for me.

    Looking forward to more of your thoughts on this book … enjoy your Sunday!

  13. The Chabon took me quite some time to get into as well. As I recall, I enjoyed it quite a bit by the end.

    I really enjoyed your post on Springtime for Hitler in South Korea, thanks.

  14. The next book I read is meant to the THE YIDDISH POLICEMEN’S UNION by Michael Chabon. Have you read that Bryan?