Saturday’s Me and You: 9/20/08

Unbelievably, this week on my main blog I had an entry every day! Wow!

ME

an unfinishedperson (in this unfinished universe)

  • Sustenance Sunday: Remembering the Triumph of the Cross: A cross post with my spiritual blog, Journeying with the Saints
  • Meandering Monday: Am I that much of a geek? Uh, yes, I am. The continuing saga of my search for the no-long-manufactured Scripto Giga pens and finding them along with other pen geeks. A cross post from my rambling blog, Unfinished Rambling(s).
  • Tuesday’s Tunes: My 10 favorite shredder guitarists: a YouTube compilation of my favorite metal/shredder guitarists from Jason Becker to Steve Vai.
  • Wordless Wednesday: Nature’s Conception: The Gates of Hell: some very cool photos of cloud formations and tornadoes. It’s like the Weather Channel in photos.
  • Thirsty Thursday: Amish Grace: How Forgiveness Transcended Tragedy: a review of the book by Donald B. Kraybill, Steven M. Nolt and David L. Weaver-Zercher about the Amish school shooting in Nickel Mines, Pa. in October 2006. A cross post from my reading blog, Just A (Reading) Fool.
  • Feetfirst Friday: God’s Country Marathon 2008: My goal to complete a marathon before I turn 40 will be realized three days before my birthday, June 6, 2009. A cross post with my running blog, just a (running) fool.

Just A (Reading) Fool

In addition to the post already mentioned, I also had the following entries this week:

Unfinished Rambling(s):

In addition to the post already mentioned above, I only posted one other post, but it was a doozy. It was called Springtime for Hitler in South Korea and all started with a conversation I had with a friend from South Korea who told me about an ad there using Nazi imagery. So far, it’s been my most popular post on that blog, thanks to friend Jenn Thorson from Of Cabbages and Kings submitting it to Reddit.

Later today, probably after this post, I’ll have another tidbit from South Korea on that blog as I talked  to my friend again, and he shared with me a funny commercial on which I can’t help but comment.

YOU

This past Monday was a good day for posts, as on that day:

  • Kevin @ Always Home and Uncool shared what it was like reading a book called The Care & Keeping of You: The Body Book for Girls with his daughter in Her Body, My Self— which he admits may make you feel uncomfortable, but it’s still as funny as all get-out.
  • Blake @ Bitchin’ Film Reviews gave his review of the Coen Brothers’s latest Burn After Reading with George Clooney et al. Wonder whether you should see it? See what he has to say.
  • My nephew told us (okay, his mother who is obsessed with taking his picture), “Man, the paparazzi’s all over my butt.” at my sister’s blog, Boondcock Ramblings. I know it’s the second week in a row I’ve featured my nearly-2-year-old nephew, but darn it, he’s cute.
  • Muskrat meanwhile told us about “my first NASCAR book” and other essential white trash literature for children in the redneck South.

On Tuesday, Meg @ Prefers Her Fantasy Life told us her Toronto Story Part I about her trip last weekend to the Toronto Film Festival, especially the interrogation she received from an immigration officer at the border.

Throughout the week, My Friend Amy hosted Book Blogger Appreciation Week, which it seemed was a great success. I believe Amy still has some giveways, so please visit her blog for more information.

Then on Wednesday, Jenn @ Of Cabbages and Kings took a trip down memory lane to high school in Cheating Natty Bumppo and the Kit-Kat Barter in which she recounts her dislike of the American classic The Last of the Mohicans by James Fennimore Cooper. Since I also didn’t like the book when I tried to read it years ago, I could relate somewhat, except not to the cheating part. 🙂

4 responses to “Saturday’s Me and You: 9/20/08

  1. I’m a year late, but thanks for linking to my post. Every few months, it seems to resurface somewhere.

    Kevin

  2. Thanks for the shout out! I’ll have to check out the other works you’ve referenced shortly!

  3. Hey, thanks for the plug…even though it jabbed at you a bit.

    This is a great idea…of highlighting your blogs and others…very cool….I have got to catch up on all your posts on here! Oy!

  4. I’m in ah of your blogging abilities and your intricate knowledge of your blogging community. Well done, and thanks for the plug!