Friday Finds found on Thursday: Of gods, God and Christ Himself

Friday Finds 9-19-08

Top to bottom:

  1. Gods in Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson: I saw Sarah at SmallWorld Reads mention this earlier this week here. I think I might have heard of it previously, but thought why not pick it up?
  2. Hogfather by Terry Pratchett: I’ve seen plenty of people mention Pratchett, but have yet to read one of his books where he was the sole author. Of course, I’ve read Good Omens by him and Neil Gaiman, but never read anything by him. The Wife read The Lost Continent, which like these two books is also a part of the DiscWorld series, but according to most people to whom I’ve talked it’s not one of his best. However, The Wife loved it. So I thought why not give some others a try first?
  3. Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett
  4. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath: I was reminded about this on a Sunday Salon post this past weekend here. I love Plath’s poetry, but have never read this, I realized. Ooops.
  5. Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore: My brother-in-law recently let me borrow his copy of A Dirty Job also by Moore. The Wife (again) is reading it and enjoying it, but I’ve heard a lot of “buzz” about Lamb, including in a comment from Florinda at The 3 R’s: Reading, ‘Riting and Randomness, recently when I mentioned A Dirty Job. She said that this, though, was a must read. So I picked up a copy.
  6. A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers: I can’t remember where I first came across this, but it was during another Sunday Salon, I believe. I think I mentioned to someone that I had never heard of Eggers, and they were incredulous like “You’ve never heard of David Eggers!?!? Oh MY God.” But seeing as this book came out in 2000, I’m not feeling too bad. When I saw it yesterday, I thought, “Hey, why not?”
  7. The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs: I’ve seen this mentioned a lot, perhaps most recently with this glowing review by one of my favorite bloggers, Raych at books i done read. Since I think at this point I’ve given up on The Book Thief, based on one of her reviews, I think I should give this one a try instead.

I purchased these books yesterday at the bookstore at which I work part-time, with the little bit of money I had left over after selling my car for scrap and then paying off rear struts we just had put on it (because we didn’t realize that we would be junking the car until…well, like yesterday). However, I decided that I should get something out of the years of misery the car has given me (and I, it, I readily admit) so I went to the bookstore.

In buying the books yesterday, I broke my commitment to J. Kaye’s Ban on Book Spending Challenge, but even she commented on a post where I said I was going to start working at a bookstore part-time that she would definitely break the challenge too. Sorry, J. Kaye, but…um…not really. 🙂

17 responses to “Friday Finds found on Thursday: Of gods, God and Christ Himself

  1. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You: 9/20/08 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. If I worked part-time in a bookstore not only would I break the challenge rules I wouldn’t feel guilty, at all, and my debt would match that of the U.S. 🙂

  3. LOL! There was no way I could stick with the book ban challenge for more than a few days so I didn’t even try! I loved A.J. Jacob’s The Know It All, I can’t wait to read The Year of Living Biblically.

  4. LOL @ You! There would be no way I could have stayed on the challenge…no way! And I would have gladly given up my first paycheck for your finds. 🙂

  5. I definitely don’t recommend starting Discworld with The Colour of Magic even though it is the first. It’s an enjoyable book, but he can do so much better. Guards, Guards and Hogfather are both excellent. Guards, Guards is the first Watch book, so it’d be a perfect introduction. Hogfather is preceded by several other Death books, but it works perfectly as a stand-alone. And the Death sub-series is my favourite.

    I really enjoyed A Staggering Work of Heartbreaking Genius. I hope you do too!

  6. unfinishedperson

    Charley: From a person who loves Pratchett, Jenn at the bookstore where I work– she said The Color of Magic is one to skip. She said it’s his first book and he’s gotten better since then.

    Florinda: I’m sure I’ll love it. The Wife has been reading sections of A Dirty Job to me and I think they’re funny, and from what I’ve heard, Lamb is even funnier than that one, so don’t worry.

    Robin: I’ve skimmed Pratchett previously and thought he wasn’t for me. He’s more than a little off the wall, but I figured I’d give him another try.

    Trish: I know. I must be crazy, to give up on a book everyone is talking about. What’s wrong with me? 😉 We’ll see on Gods in Alabama. At least, it doesn’t too long – under 300 pages.

    Fyreflybooks: Thanks for the recommendation. I’m looking forward to it when I get to it: probably next, because of all the talk about it.

    Literate Housewife: Reread it? Wow. There’s a concept. I haven’t done that in a while. My TBR pile is too large now to consider it (well, not really, but there’s just so much more I want to read).

  7. I really enjoyed Gods in Alabama. I just might have to dig that one out and put it back in my TBR pile.

  8. I’ll second the enthusiastic recommendation for Lamb – it’s among the best, if not the best book that Moore’s written.

  9. What? Giving up on the Book Thief? Ludacris! 🙂 I’ve been wanting to read My Year of Living Biblically as well. Gods in Alabama was just OK for me. Happy reading to you!

  10. I’ve been considering getting “A year of living biblically” Will have to put it on my wishlist. I’ve never read anything by Pratchett. I’ll have to give him a try.

    Robin of mytwoblessings

  11. I am going to feel guilty about my enthusiastic recommendation if you don’t like Lamb…so, no pressure :-)!

    Working in a bookstore would be both my dream and my undoing.

  12. Nice additions. The Year of Living Biblically was good, and also funny. I, too, recently acquired a copy of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius, which I bought after reading What is the What. And I recently tried to read The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett, but I set it aside for other things. I’d like to give it another try someday.

  13. unfinishedperson

    Gautami: Hmmm. I thought I had heard The Color of Magic was the first in the series….but I’ll have to look it up after I get through these…and thanks for the link to your poetry blog.

    Lezlie: I have a co-worker at the bookstore who liked the Night Watch series as well. I didn’t realize how complex the series was until she started describing it to me.

    Yasmin: Will do, even though at this point, it might be next year with my TBR list growing and growing.

  14. I read the Bell Jar years ago…can’t remember the details very well now…but I remember enjoying it when I read it. Please share your thoughts after you read it…whenever you read it. 😉

  15. My favorite Pratchett books are the ones about the Night Watch. I remember Guards, Guards as being very good!

    Lezlie

  16. Oops! The above is my poetry blog!

    I have bought any books lately and have decided not to buy anymore until 2009!

    Lets see…

  17. Equal Rites by Terry Pratchet is a good book too. It is first in the Discworld series.

    The Bell Jar is one of my avourite reads. I love Plath’s poetry. Dark yet so compelling. Maybe becos…

    I write poetry. Lots of it. You can vist my poetry blog any time you wish. Just click on my name. And now:

    http://readingandmorereading.blogspot.com/2008/09/friday-finds-september-19-2008.html