The Sunday Salon: No longer expecting great things, I set off on amazing adventures

The Sunday Salon.com Since last week’s Sunday Salon, I’ve finished a few books, including Great Expectations by Charles Dickens (review coming later this week), Right As Rain by George P. Pelecanos and Amish Grave: How Forgiveness Transcended Tragedy by Donald B. Kraybill, Steven M. Nolt and David L. Weaver-Zercher about the October 2006 shootings near Nickel Mines, Pa. (I plan on reviewing this later today.)

I’ve also reviewed The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho based off questions from Nicole Bonia of Linus’s Blanket and she reviewed Monique and the Mango Rains based off questions I gave her for this week’s Weekly Geeks.

Today, even though I’m “supposed to be reading” Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimananda Ngozi Adichie for an online discussion forum, I’ve decided instead I’m going to read The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon, a book that my brother-in-law loaned to me this past week. He also loaned me A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore and The Last Continent by Terry Pratchett, but my wife is reading the Pratchett  book and since I’ve been on a comic book kick over the last few months, I figured why not read Chabon’s book.

I’ll be checking in later with my review of Amish Grace and also updating y’all on what I think of the Chabon book. Until then…hope you’re all have a good day of reading. I’m off to Mass.

8 responses to “The Sunday Salon: No longer expecting great things, I set off on amazing adventures

  1. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You: 9/20/08 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I loved “The Amazing Adventures of K&C”. It was a great read and I tore through it. I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did!

  3. Bravo on finishing Great Expectations. I look forward to reading what you have to say about it…

  4. I’m looking forward to your review of Great Expectations.

    Kavalier and Clay was fun!

  5. I am about 150 pages into Half of a Yellow Sun and won’t finish for the start of discussion. I had a difficult time getting into the first couple of pages (i.e. 100 pages), so I did a little bit of other reading on the side as procrastination. It’s picking up now, though. Dar, I know, is really liking it! I look forward to our discussion.

  6. The Chabon is on my New York list and as I;ve enjoyed books by him in the past I’m really looking forward to that. But don’t put off ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’. It has been one of the most remark books I’ve read over the past year.

  7. I loved Half of the Yellow Sun and Purple Hibiscus. Adichie is a great writer.

    I have read only one Terry Pratchett till date. I will look out for more.

    Waking upto SS after a day of serial blasts in Delhi
    SS 2: Dear John

  8. Your review of the Coelho is interesting. I’ve only read one book by him (The Zafir) and it put me right off reading anything else. It struck me as quite easy– too easy, if you know what I mean.