Friday Finds: Chabon, Moore and Pratchett from the brother-in-law

Today, I realized that it’s been a while since I’ve participated in Friday Finds, one of several weekly events sponsored by MizB. So this will incorporate a couple of weeks “finds”.

I’ll start with last week or perhaps it was the week before that, when an octogenarian that I know recommended a series by George P. Pelecanos, a crime novelist, who also has written teleplays for HBO’s The Wire. This past week, I read the first book in the series, Right As Rain, and here is my review.

Then last weekend, my brother-in-law brought me a few books to borrow, which he thought I might enjoy. Either I had previously mentioned them to him or he thought it was a book I would enjoy. The three books are:

  • A Dirty Job by Christopher Moore: I have not read any of his books, but I have skimmed through Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff’s, Christ’s Childhood Pal, which I also purchased for a friend who just graduated from seminary.
  • The Last Continent by Terry Pratchett, which is a part of his DiscWorld series: My wife is enjoying it immensely. She says it reminds her of Douglas Adams, which to my way of thinking isn’t a bad thing at all. My brother-in-law, who enjoyed Good Omens by Pratchett and Neil Gaiman, said he thought this was a little too weird for him and had to put it down after a few pages. I also read Good Omens, which I loved, and am looking forward to reading Pratchett on his own.
  • The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon: My sister loves Chabon, who also wrote Wonder Boys, and my brother-in-law is a huge comic book fan. I also have been getting into graphic novels, so he thought this would be “up my alley.”

Last, but not least, I want to mention a nonfiction book to which I had been introduced about a month ago, I guess, through several blogs, including Jessica @ The Bluestocking Society, called Monique and the Mango Rains by Kris Holloway.

I was recently reintroduced to it when I participated in this past week’s Weekly Geeks in which we were to partner up with other book bloggers and ask each other questions about books we read. The person who was my partner, Nicole @ Linus’s Blanket, had recently read Monique and the Mango Rains, so I asked her questions about them. For her review, based on my questions, and then a  bonus, my half-hearted review of The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, based on her questions, click HERE.

7 responses to “Friday Finds: Chabon, Moore and Pratchett from the brother-in-law

  1. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You: 9/13/08 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. unfinishedperson

    Florinda: I think my sister would agree with you on that one. She couldn’t stop talking about that book for a long time after she read it. In fact, she still might be talking about it…as for Lamb, I definitely want to read it.

    Blake: Hmmm…The Wife said she’s loving it so far.

    Ann: I don’t know when I’m going to get to the Chabon, so those notes might be compared in a few months. 😉 I hate to say besides Good Omens with Gaiman, I’ve never read any Pratchett. (Gasp)

    Raych: Okay, wait, now that I’ve just told Ann that I don’t know when I’m going to it and now you say you LOVED Kavalier and Clay, I guess maybe I’ll have to reassess. 🙂

    Nymeth: Wait,another vote for Kavalier and Clay…and I won’t be reading The Last Continent right away, despite what the Wife says: 2 votes here against.

  3. Kavalier and Clay is such a great book.

    I adore Terry Pratchett, but I have to say that The Last Continent is the only book of his I didn’t really enjoy. It was funny at first, but it just got repetitive after a while. So if you end up not enjoying it, don’t be discouraged! The other Discworld books are much, much better.

  4. I like/loved (that netherland between just plain liking and totally, unabashedly loving) A Dirty Job, and I LOVED Kavalier and Clay. Happy reading.

  5. The Chabon is on my New York reading list so we will be able to compare notes. Terry Pratchett is a remarkable man. I was listening to him on the radio only yesterday afternoon talking about his new book for children, ‘Nation’. He is facing up to his illness with remarkable fortitude and humour and has a wonderful gift for putting every one at their ease. I was privileged enough to meet him many years ago. It’s one of my proudest memories.

  6. I have to say that I also had to put down The Last Continent. Maybe I’ll try it again some day…

  7. I’m with your sister on the Michael Chabon train. I actually like Wonder Boys more than Kavalier and Clay, but the latter is definitely worth your time.

    And so is Christopher Moore. A Dirty Job is good, but you HAVE to read Lamb.