Disciplining myself body, mind and soul

Simply I learned about Wisdom and ungrudgingly do I share — her wishes I do not hide away. For to men, she is an unfailing treasure; those who gain this treasure win the friendship of God, to whom the gifts they have from discipline commend them.

Wisdom 7:13-14

Discipline: It was to this word to which I was drawn the other morning. I have been attempting to get up every morning to pray and then most days also to run, and to pray in the evening as well. Morning and Evening Prayer as in the Liturgy of the Hours.

While I have been getting up at 5:30 a.m. and starting my day with prayer, I have neither been as attentive to my running nor to Evening Prayer. I have heard some call Morning and Evening Prayer “the hinges” of the Liturgy of the Hours. So while I am opening my day with praise (“Lord, open my lips and my mouth will proclaim your praise.”), I am not ending my day with praise or even continuing my day with praise. It is like in between I am straying.

It is similar with the running as I am not kickstarting my day with that burst of energy I need to carry me through the rest of the day. If I put it off until later, I become lethargic in my ways.

Lord, grant me the grace to be disciplined in my reading/praying of the Liturgy of the Hours and in my running regimen, so that I may be commended with Your wisdom. Amen.

This post also can be found at Journeying with the Saints.

One response to “Disciplining myself body, mind and soul

  1. Discipline can be a hard focus at times. I think when we become over occupied is when it becomes the hardest. I find that when set my priorities, then disciplne becomes somewhat of an easier task.