Letting the law beat within my heart

The days are coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah…this is the covenant which I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD. I will place my law within them, and write it upon their hearts; I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

Jeremiah 31:31, 33

To have the Lord’s law placed within and written on our hearts, what does that mean to you? For me, it means living out what God tells me each day in his word. It should be as automatic as breathing, as automatic as the systolic and diastolic pressures of the heart. We won’t even ask how it is done. It will just be done, it will just flow — like blood through our arteries, our veins. The life-giving blood of Jesus within us.

Lord, each day by my reading of your Scripture, the saints, put your law within me and write it upon my heart. Let it be as automatic as breathing, as the beating of my heart, Your heart within me, O Sacred Heart of Jesus. Amen.

Addendum: Just for anyone’s information, I’ve also backdated a few entries, just previous to this one, in case you’re interested. Nothing earth-shaking, but thought I should let y’all know.

One response to “Letting the law beat within my heart

  1. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You: 9/6/08 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)