Booking Through Thursday: I don’t have learn to pace myself, I’m not like everybody else

Today’s Booking Through Thursday questions, which were recommended by JM: Have you ever felt pressured to read something because ‘everyone else’ was reading it? Have you ever given in and read the book(s) in question or do you resist? If you are a reviewer, etc, do you feel it’s your duty to keep up on current trends?

Question 1: Yes, I’ve felt pressure. Question 2: No, most of the time I’ve resisted, because I have enough other books to keep me busy. Question 3: As an etc., who just started work part-time at a local bookstore today (and just after I signed up for the Ban on Spending Book Challenge not too long ago — argh!), yes, I do feel it’s my duty to keep up with current trends, because my new boss told me it was so when a customer comes into the store, I don’t say to them: Christopher Pao-who? That said, I’ve always somewhat kept track of what the trends are, for example, Stephanie Meyer, yada yada yada. That doesn’t mean I’ve felt obliged to read them, but I do like to keep track of what the trends are (mostly so I can make fun of them 😉 — vampires?!? that’s so late 1890s, isn’t it? been there, read that (head bob and click of fingers).

Whenever I hear the word pressure, I can’t help but think of this song, hence the obscure title to this post.

4 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: I don’t have learn to pace myself, I’m not like everybody else

  1. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You: 9/6/08 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. When I worked in a bookstore most of my paycheck went for books! But, working in a bookstore, I can also understand the need to be well-read with the current offerings. As a rule, I don’t follow trends or crowds on anything. I didn’t start reading the Harry Potter books until just before the first movie came out. I loved them. I finally read Twilight and nearly didn’t finish it. Totally over-hyped, although I will admit to liking the last one!

  3. Thanks for that last line – I’d been trying to think where I’d heard the phrasing of your post title before. One of my favorite Billy Joel songs (and I have quite a few – don’t judge me!).

  4. thank you for your nice comment on my BTT entry. It is fun to make fun of the trends too- vampires that sparkle in sunlight, my a$$!