What’s on My Nightstand for September: Basically, ditto from August

What's On Your Nightstand

First, here is a list of what I’ve read in August so far, not counting the four books to be finished here shortly (see below):

Second, about what’s on my nightstand for September, this wasn’t hard, since it was mainly a cut and paste from last time.

By the time September rolls in on Monday, my goal is have completed four of the books here, including:

  1. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens for 1% Well-Read Challenge and Classics Challenge 2008
  2. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho for Orbis Terrarum Challenge
  3. The Giver by Lois Lowry for Book Awards II Reading Challenge
  4. The Prophet by Khalil Gibran for Orbis Terrarum

I’m a good halfway through the Dickens tome, and the other three are short, all under 200 pages– but also over 100 pages (which is the only way I’ll count them). I’m planning on starting (and most likely finishing) the Coelho book today. If I meet this goal, I’ll have read 51 books for the year, with 10 books for the month of August.

The rest (with the four aforementioned taken out of the equation) are:

  1. A Fable by William Faulkner for Book Awards II Challenge and The Pulitzer Project
  2. The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky for 1% Well-Read and Classics challenge
  3. American Gods by Neil Gaiman for Book Awards II
  4. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe for Orbis Terrarum Challenge
  5. A Death in the Family by James Agee for The Pulitzer Project and Book Awards II
  6. Middlemarch by George Eliot for 1% Well-Read and Classics challenges
  7. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver for Herding Cats Challenge
  8. The Wisdom Teachings of the Dalai Lama by the Dalai Lama with Matthew Bunson for Orbis Terrarum
  9. Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust for Orbis Terrarum Challenge
  10. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston for 1% Well-Read and Southern Reading challenges
  11. The Known World by Edward P. Jones for The Pulitzer Project and Book Awards II
  12. The Book of Illusions by Paul Auster for the 1% Well-Read
  13. A Beautiful Mind by Sylvia Nasar for Book Awards II Challenge

All will count toward the 100+ Book Challenge, which may or may not happen at this point.

I didn’t finish the Zora Neale Hurston book and the Southern Reading Challenge ended Friday, Aug. 15, but I did begin it and was enjoying it somewhat (if not– or maybe because of– the dialect in it). So I’ll most likely tackle it again here this upcoming month.

The question last month I asked myself was whether or not, I would get to all of the books listed. At that point, I said I don’t think so, and speculated as to which books I most likely would finish. This time, the only speculation I have is that I will read either Dostoevsky or Eliot this month, but definitely not both. Hurston and Proust are good bets, since I already have begun both of those. However, like last month, beyond that, it’s all up in the air– although I’m leaning toward the Gaiman book, as most likely the lighter out of the 13 books listed.

6 responses to “What’s on My Nightstand for September: Basically, ditto from August

  1. You’re reading American Gods! That’s one of my favourite books. I hope you enjoy it too. I read The Giver just a few weeks ago and I was very impressed. The same goes for The Known World, which I read for the Pulitzer Project earlier this year.

  2. That’s a big stack, but it sounds like you have a plan.

    Thanks for joining in Nightstand.

  3. Wow! Make sure these don’t fall on you in your sleep.

  4. I’m not sure I’d call American Gods light, but it’s certainly a book I recommend a lot! And I had to read Their Eyes Were Watching God for a grad class; it wasn’t my favorite, but I didn’t hate it, and besides, I didn’t like the class, either.

    If the Southern challenge is issued again, and if you choose to participate, may I suggest you start with Florence King’s Southern Ladies & Gentlemen? I think you’ll find it makes most of the rest of the books for the challenge more enjoyable, and maybe unexpectedly funny.

  5. You’ve got some great stuff in that pile! I loved “Things Fall Apart” and I can’t wait to see your comments on “Swann’s Way”. I’ve reviewed them both at Books ‘N Border Collies, if you’re curious. 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Lezlie

  6. Yeah, I’m with you on not getting things done this month. Just because I got my Nightstand post up on time doesn’t mean that my reading is up to date! ~LOL~ I’m desperately trying to finished Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children by the end of August, but it’s not looking good – this is a CHALLENGING book.

    I look forward to your thoughts on The Alchemist (which I’ve read) and The Giver (which I have not).