Early to bed, early to rise…the cliche is true

Once you find something that is playful and addictive and filled with satisfaction, your daily budget takes care of itself.

…no matter how long and proper the preparation, no matter how strong and enduring the motivation, we cannot add a new activity to our life without taking something else out.

George Sheehan in Chapter 3 of How To Feel Great 24 Hours A Day

After this morning’s hike up Mount Tom, I read the above quotes from the late George Sheehan. Both are something I am beginning to learn are true, and are interrelated for me. What I mean by that is this: Over the last couple weeks, I’ve been working on getting up at 5:30 a.m. Monday through Friday to read from the Liturgy of the Hours, followed by a run, and for the most part, with maybe one glitch, I’ve been pretty successful. I’ve noticed that the daily budget is beginning to take care of itself, and that with adding two new activities to my life, I have taken out two things: namely staying up late and getting up late.

It wasn’t that I’d always stay up late or get up late. However, as a freelance writer who works from home, I’d find myself thinking I could stay up and then sleep in once in a  while. Now I’m learning that as ironic as it seems, by getting up earlier and going to bed earlier, I’m actually having more time in my day to do things– and for the most part, having more energy throughout the day (I still take naps, but not as long — which probably also is helping with me not staying up late).

An aside: Last night I received a response to one of my blog entries from a fellow blogger about how she’s getting up at 5 to run for an hour and then do a strength training program from 6 to 7. God bless her, because it’s been rough enough for me to get up at 5:30 and then start my run between 6:30 and 7. I applaud her for sticking with it.

Tomorrow: Sand Run Falls.

One response to “Early to bed, early to rise…the cliche is true

  1. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You: 8/30/08 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)