The Sunday Salon: The Dickens, we say!…and the week in review

The Sunday Salon.com

In-laws in town today so not going to be getting to a lot of reading today, but I did get in a little reading of Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, which from what I’ve seen in the last couple of weeks in the book blogosphere, more than a few of us are reading. Clare Swindlehurst, who runs the blog Blue Archipelago, suggested we might could discuss it at her virtual book club when we all get finished. I think that would be a good idea. Anybody else game? I’m about halfway through myself, but shoudl be finished definitely by the end of the week.

________________________________________________

Usually at the end of the day, I post a review of my week, both what I’ve posted on my blogs and also what I’ve come across by others on theirs. Yesterday, though, I started a new feature at my main blog called Saturday’s Me and You, where I do just that, post links to my blog posts for the week plus others’ blog posts that I found intriguing throughout the week. I encourage you to check it out. Of course, I don’t expect you to read all of it (I’ll be honest, I don’t always read all of your reviews of your weeks either) but perhaps something might catch your eyes there (that’s what I do, skim your posts and see what catches my eyes).

Anyway, I’ll probably see you all later, and I’m already bookmarking lots of your posts to read tomorrow. I look forward to catching up with some of you on the morrow. Have a good day of reading, all.

8 responses to “The Sunday Salon: The Dickens, we say!…and the week in review

  1. Pingback: Saturday’s Me and You: 8/30/08 « An unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I’m still doing
    Great Expectations. Pip is in London now and has met the Pocket family.

  3. I just wanted to stop by and say hi – and let y’all know that I kicked off a thread in the Blue Archipelago Virtual Book Club for us to discuss Great Expectations. It’s up to you whether you wait until the end – or post as you read – but beware that spoilers ARE ALLOWED. Here’s the link: http://www.clareswindlehurst.com/bookdiscussion/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=20

  4. I enjoy Dickens serialization style as well. It makes for good spots to stop and start, and not get overwhelmed.

  5. Have fun with the in-laws! Nothing better than enjoying time with family. 🙂

  6. Long time since I’ve read any Dickens. Because most of his novels were initially printed in weekly serial form I think they work well if you read them in small sippets. As a teenager reading GE I loved the Australian/convict connection.

  7. I’m always up for a discussion of Dickens and I love ‘Great Expectations’, just as long as I’m allowed to explode with exasperation about Pip every now and again.

  8. Oooooh, a Dickens club! Would love to… but this is the worst timing for me, what with school about to start and work piling up. I do look forward to reading your thoughts on it when you finish, though.