The Sunday Salon: Living and not living up to great expectations

The Sunday Salon.com This afternoon, after a short nap, I’m still reading Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I’m not very far along, only about 100 pages, but it’s been an enjoyable read thus far. One of the commenters in today’s earlier post said she just keep thinking that Pip should grow up. Personally, I think Pip’s doing all right so far for being “brought up by hand” by his sister, Mrs. Joe. But like I said, I’m only about 100 pages into the book, still 400-some pages to go. Still time for my opinion to change.

________________________________________________________

Speaking of great expectations, in the last few months, I expected to do great on finishing my first ever reading challenge, Southern Reading Challenge 2008, which ended on Friday. However, suddenly Thursday night, I found myself up against the deadline wall and still hadn’t read the third book. I already had read The Moviegoer by Walker Percy and Look Homeward, Angel by Thomas Wolfe. My last book was to be Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. However, because of the dialect in which she writes, I was unable to finish. I got about 40 pages in and decided it wasn’t going to happen. Que sera sera, as I told our host, Maggie.

However, I still had fun participating in the challenge and I won a tin of pecans from a monthly drawing Maggie had as part of the challenge. I received this in the mail this past week:

pecans

I’m such a dork that I thought when she said I won a can of pecans, I thought it was going to be a can of pecans like a Planter’s can. I didn’t expect this. I should show you a before and after shot, but then with only a handful of pecans left (my wife ate some, okay, a few) in the tin, you won’t have much to see.

On a serious note, while I have read Southern authors previously (especially O’Connor and Faulkner, on whom I had a class in college), the challenge gave me a new appreciation for Southern writers and made me want to return to the genre again. I especially would like to continue reading more about Eugene Gant in Wolfe’s other novels after reading Look Homeward, Angel and return to reading later Percy novels, where I think he fleshed out the characters in his books more than he did in The Moviegoer.

Next Sunday Salon post: Later this evening, I’ll highlight a few new challenges from a few of my favorite book bloggers and appreciating book bloggers. Until then, hope you’re all having a good day of reading thus far. In between napping, I know I am.

5 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Living and not living up to great expectations

  1. Dang, those khans look good! Too bad I never get to win them! 😦

  2. I have had such a hard time getting through As I Lay Dying by Faulkner…this is my third and last attempt…I feel like they are speaking another language and I walked into the story after it has already started. I want so badly to “get this ” book…but I am not…

  3. Great Expectations!!! One of my favorites and not surprising given the name of my blog. heheh I hope you enjoy it as much as I’ve enjoyed it all these years.

  4. I hope to try Dickens soon!

  5. Wow, those pecans look amazing!

    It’s hard to let challenges go. I did the Book Blowout Challenge last month and just barely squeaked by my goal. I’m glad I’m not doing anything challenge-wise for the next two months (well, other than my personal yearly goal), because I have a huge backlog of books to read and/or review.