Friday Finds: The Pink Carnation series and Ringside: 1925

So what great books did you find out about this week?

Me?

Through Devourer of Books, I learned about the Pink Carnation series by Lauren Willig of which The Secret History of the Pink Carnation is the first one. So far, Willig has written four of the series, with a fifth to come out in January. It is written in the tradition of the Scarlet Pimpernel, with the story both taking place in the present and the past. To learn more about the series, click on the link above, where Devourer of Books gives reviews of each of the books so far, plus a link to an excerpt from the next in the series. I reread The Scarlet Pimpernel earlier in the year and enjoyed it again, so I thought this series might be something I should find.

This next one, I technically didn’t find out about this week. However, I did “discover” it this week as I was cleaning out my bookmarks. Back in the beginning of July, Teddy Rose at So Many Precious Books, So Little Time introduced me to this book by author Jen Bryant:

As a weekly editor/reporter in southeastern Pennsylvania, I had the opportunity to interview Bryant, who specializes in children’s and young adult books, years ago. The paper for which I worked has since gone defunct. Otherwise, I might share a link to the article. However, if you want to learn more about the book, click through to Teddy’s site, and then through to Random House, where you can find out more about Bryant and the other books she has penned.

3 responses to “Friday Finds: The Pink Carnation series and Ringside: 1925

  1. I’ve been reading the Pink Carnation since the first one was delivered to my local library and they put it aside thinking I would like it. I’m glad you found this series. It can be a little far-fetched, but it’s fun and adventurous!

  2. I read the first book in the Pink Carnation series, and let me just say… in short, I hated it. But other people have loved it, so don’t let my opinion deter you.

  3. I’m really excited about the Pink Carnation series, too!