Booking Through Thursday: Authors’ worlds in which I’d like to live and in which I wouldn’t like to live

Today’s Booking Through Thursday questions were suggested by Miko: Are there any particular worlds in books where you’d like to live? Or where you certainly would NOT want to live? What about authors? If you were a character, who would you trust to write your life?

I’ve been perusing some of what others have been writing already about what particular worlds in books that they’d like to live and not live.

To live in (forgive me the dangling preposition): I’ve seen a few for Tolkien’s Middle Earth, although I’d have to say post-Ring-being-destroyed, when everything goes back to happy, joy, joy.

To not live in: I’ve seen a few for Gone With The Wind; however, I personally don’t want to go back to the days of slavery. The way blacks were treated far outweighs the way women were treated, in my opinion. I’ve also seen the world of 1984; unfortunately, in the days of George W. Bush (sorry to get political on y’all), I think we may already be there. Probably as I was typing in his name, the National Security Agency already was recording my IP address and marking me down as subversive.

For me, I suppose I’d like to live in Gotham, especially the Gotham as presented in Batman: Gotham Knights #32, October 2002, by writer Devin Grayson and artist Roger Robinson, where the Caped Crusader is protecting everyone. It seems like Gotham doesn’t have any crime, thanks to Batman. I just read it as part of a 2005 compilation called Batman: The Greatest Stories Ever Told.

But I wouldn’t like to live in Frank Miller’s version, Batman: The Dark Knight Returns. It’s a pretty grim world and akin to 1984. Even Batman and Superman end up fighting against each other. Enough said.

As for who I would trust to write my life, I’ll be honest I’m a little bit of an egotist, so I wouldn’t trust anyone to write my life (not that it’s that exciting so far anyway). Yes, good biographies are out there, but when I think of the great books that have profiled individuals, I think mostly of autobiographies: Malcolm X, Thomas Merton, to name a couple off the top of my head.

5 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Authors’ worlds in which I’d like to live and in which I wouldn’t like to live

  1. As I point out to successive generations of students, living where we do we are actually in The Shire and I took tea yesterday afternoon at Ted Sandyman’s mill. You live and breathe the inspiration for Tolkien’s world if you live round here.

  2. I wouldn’t want to live in the same places you wouldn’t, and I definitely feel like I’m in 1984 these days!!
    Great to read your interpretations!

  3. I read the prompt not as who you would pick to write your biography, but who to write you as a character in one of their books.

  4. I chose hobbiton for one of my places to live as well. I couldn’t think of any I couldn’t live in. I think big cities would not be my first choice at all though….I like rural for sure.

    and I agree that I would not want to live in a book like gone with the wind, but I have never read that one, or seen the movie…

    great answer!!

  5. I am with you on Gone with the Wind. I can’t imagine too many other novels I’d less like to live in.