Let it be, let it be, let it be

The plan this morning was to get up at 5:30 and after reading The Liturgy of the Hours for today, to go for a run by 6:30. Instead, because I was up a little later than I wanted to be, I was up at 6:30 and out the door by 7 a.m. after reading The Liturgy of the Hours. Since I haven’t run this week, I opted to just run on the trails behind our house.

I want to get into a routine, where I read The Office of the Readings (a reading from the Bible and a commentary from a Church Father) and Morning Prayer (which also includes a Bible reading) each morning. As such, I’d like to be able to meditate somewhat on what I’ve read that morning. This morning, I was attempting to do that, thinking about a trip I’m taking to Mt. Savior Monastery in Pine City, N.Y. later today as I consider becoming an oblate there.

That was when it happened: I tripped on a rock and fell, face first, but I caught myself with my left arm as I fell, mud going up my arm and left leg. I had to laugh. Here, I am trying to be all “holy” and God puts me in my place. Later, I thought maybe God was trying to tell me something else, not to try so hard, whether it be meditating or reading Scripture or whatever it is that I’m doing throughout the day. For some reason, the song that came to me was “Let It Be” by the Beatles. Too often, I’m trying too hard when maybe I just need to let it be.

This post is cross-posted at Journeying with the Saints.

Zemanta Pixie

Comments are closed.