What’s on tap for August: Camilleri, Hurston, etc.

What's On Your NightstandI learned about this via Naida at the bookworm, who in turn learned about it from J. Kaye at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.

The basic idea is:

  • to post a picture, or tell how and when these books got into your to-be-read pile, or give a mini-review of the books in progress.

For more details, visit the site.

Now for my photo, and a little bit about the books, in case, you the print is too small for you to read:

From top to bottom (not necessarily how I’ll choose them):

  1. A Fable by William Faulkner for Book Awards II Reading Challenge and The Pulitzer Project
  2. The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky for 1% Well-Read Challenge and Classics Challenge 2008
  3. American Gods by Neil Gaiman for Book Awards II
  4. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens for 1% Well-Read and Classics challenges
  5. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe for Orbis Terrarum Challenge
  6. A Death in the Family by James Agee for The Pulitzer Project and Book Awards II
  7. Middlemarch by George Eliot for 1% Well-Read and Classics challenges
  8. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver for Herding Cats Challenge
  9. The Wisdom Teachings of the Dalai Lama by the Dalai Lama with Matthew Bunson for Orbis Terrarum
  10. Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust for Orbis Terrarum Challenge
  11. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston for 1% Well-Read and Southern Reading challenges
  12. The Known World by Edward P. Jones for The Pulitzer Project and Book Awards II
  13. The Prophet by Khalil Gibran for Orbis Terrarum
  14. The Book of Illusions by Paul Auster for the 1% Well-Read
  15. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho for Orbis Terrarum Challenge
  16. The Giver by Lois Lowry for Book Awards II Challenge
  17. A Beautiful Mind by Sylvia Nasar for Book Awards II Challenge

All will count toward the 100+ Book Challenge, which may or may not happen at this point.

One of the first books that I will tackle, as soon as I finish Andrea Camilleri’s The Snack Thief (not pictured), will be the Zora Neale Hurston book, with the Southern Reading Challenge ending next Friday, Aug. 15. I originally had dropped this because of a couple of being influenced by a few negative reviews. However, I’ve been swayed by one of my favorite bloggers, Heather at Age 30: A Year of Books, and am still going to give it a shot.

Will I get to all 17? With tomes like Dostoevsky and Middlemarch amongst the group, I don’t think so. At this point, all I know for sure is the Hurston and Camilleri books. Beyond that, it’s all up in the air, although I’m leaning toward Kingsolver and Gaiman as good bets of books I will get to read here in the next month.

6 responses to “What’s on tap for August: Camilleri, Hurston, etc.

  1. Pingback: TSS: Spending my day, my week mostly in Italy « Unfinished Person

  2. I like having some flexibility on what I’m going to read next, too.

    I’m so glad you joined in. I enjoyed seeing all those different challenges, too.

  3. Now y’all know why I say to Himself: I need a book! Pick me a book! And read whatever he hands me.

  4. I’m very interested in hearing your thoughts on Brothers K–I’ve wanted to read it for a while, but it intimidates me a bit. I hope you like Great Expectations–it’s one of my all time favorites! The Poisonwood Bible and The Known World are both books I will be reading soon, so I’ll be looking forward to your reviews!

  5. Yeah! I swayed you back! Of course, now I’ll feel guilty if you don’t like it … oh the stress!!! ~LOL~

    You also have another of my very favorite books on your list, The Poisonwood Bible. I rarely reread books but I’ve read that one 2x and recommend it to absolutely everyone.

    I did the “Nightstand” post last week … here’s my link in case you want to compare (although mine is much smaller than yours!)

  6. If it were possible, my nightstand would be bowing before yours saying humbly, “I’m not worthy, I’m not worthy!” over and over again. Once I get a stack about five books high, it not only blocks the light from my reading lamp but also starts to depress me, so I try to keep only a few books there at a time.