The Sunday Salon: Looking back on the last month, the last week

The Sunday Salon.com As usual with my Sunday Salon, because I am a Sunday napper, I haven’t got a lot of reading done this afternoon. However, I’m still working my way through the graphic novel, The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller with Klaus Janson and Lynn Varley and enjoying it. Tonight after my wife and I watch a movie, I hope to dip back into Andrea Camilleri’s third Inspector Montalbano book, The Snack Thief, on which I also am working.

In the meantime, I thought I’d give y’all a wrap up of my July reading, which isn’t too large of a list, and my week on this blog as well as highlights from my other blogs, including new header designs on all of my blogs except for this one.

The month in review in reading

My favorite for the month was the Alexie book, with my least favorite the Hansen book, although it was still good in its own way.

I read Thomas Wolfe’s tome (weighing in at a mere 522 pages, not a Russian novelist’s thousands of pages, it still was a tome to me after most of my reading has been of books under 300 pages) as part of the Southern Reading Challenge 2008. The challenge ends August 15 and I’ve switched my last book from Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston to Black Boy by Richard Wright after a recommendation from a friend. I still might read the Thurston book, but it will be in addition to the challenge and when I want to read it.

Mortenson’s story, meanwhile, I read as part of a book chat on Travel the World (from a Comfy Chair), a discussion which is still taking place. So far, two others have posted their reviews of the book:

_________________________________________________

The week in review in blogging

Here, on Just A (Reading) Fool:

Over on Just A (Running) Fool (which features a new header, using a photo from the George Sheehan Classic in 2004):

  • The aforementioned A run with Brother Lawrence, which was the only post there for the week, as I didn’t get much running in this week, thanks to terrible allergy headaches toward the end of the week that pretty much incapacitated me.

Over on Journeying with the Saints (which also features a new header, more in keeping with the theme of the blog):

  • Again, a run with Brother Lawrence, which I’m really not trying to plug, but just keeps coming up since I crossposted it on four out of my five blogs (no, really).

Over on Unfinished Rambling(s) (which features a new header as well, incorporating the hood of a Nash Rambler):

Over on an unfinished person (in an unfinished universe), which also features a new header based off CD cover art created by JR Rost for a Charles Ives CD, incorporating William Blake’s watercolor Newton:

After I get done here, actually, I’ll be going to play a bit of catchup with my other blogs as I notice I’m a bit behind. But with five blogs, it’s not always easy (not that I’m whining; it’s not like anyone forced me to create them all, is it?).

5 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Looking back on the last month, the last week

  1. I’ll be starting Black Boy pretty soon, too! Part of a humanities program called the 4Ws that look to celebrate Mississippi authors. Richard Wright was a Mississippian before moving to France. His Native Son is on my list of favorite books. There is no other character like Bigger Thomas. 😉

  2. I almost picked up Black Boy at a recent library sale but decided against it. The only things I’ve read by Wright are some of his short stories, but I enjoyed them. I have Their Eyes Were Watching God on my shelf and am looking forward to reading it one day.

  3. I love Their Eyes Were Watching God as well, and would encourage you to try it. It is so lyrical and satisfying!

    I happened upon your blog on a search for “book blogs.” I was trying to find three new “classics” that I hadn’t read yet, to read over the Summer. I am reading On the Road right now (somehow, I never read it before) and am really enjoying it.

    Will be back for sure.

  4. I have to put in a plug for Zora Neale Hurtson’s book … it’s one of my all-time favorites and I hope you’ll get around to reading it sooner rather than later. I’d love to know what you think of it. 🙂

  5. My aunt loaned me Three Cups of Tea but I didn’t get very far in it. I’ve heard that it’s good though and it seems like an interesting story.

    I wanted to read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, but then I found out it meant Native American and not India Indian so I lost interest haha.