A run with Brother Lawrence

I know that for the right practice of it [the presence of God], the heart must be empty of all other things; because God will possess the heart alone; and as He cannot possess it alone, without emptying it of all besides, so neither can He act there, and do in it what He pleases, unless it be left vacant to Him.

— Brother Lawrence of the Resurrection
in Practice of the Presence of God: The Best Rule of Holy Life,
Christian Classics Ethereal Library edition

As I ran this morning, I reflected on this passage from one of the letters Brother Lawrence wrote to a nun. I consciously made an effort to keep in mind this thought, “Lord, empty me so I can be filled with You.” I also considered that the emptying of myself each morning can be not only a spiritual practice, but also a mental practice– in divesting myself of the worries of the upcoming day– and a physical practice– in expending energy, or emptying myself of energy, as I run. In this act of running each morning, all the elements of myself: body, mind and soul: can be incorporated– and emptied, and thus can I leave them vacant for God to fill.

Lord, empty me each morning spiritually, mentally and physically so I can be filled with only You, and truly practice Your presence throughout the day. Amen.

This post was also published at an unfinished person (in an unfinished universe), Just A (Running) Fool, Just A (Reading) Fool, and Simply Ecclesia (of which I recently became a contributor and recommend to others seeking God).

3 responses to “A run with Brother Lawrence

  1. I love Brother Lawrence’s Practice of the Presence of God. So much wisdom about trying be constantly aware of God’s Presence. Thank you for reminding me of it!

  2. Thanks for the link you sent me.

  3. Good post. Is this from a book or is it more a devotional format? It sounds good. I need more classics that can help me center in on God.