The Sunday Salon: Drinking tea again, stealing snacks and pouring libations for the blogging gods

The Sunday Salon.comWhat’s on tap for today’s Sunday Salon:

Mostly today’s focus will be on Three Cups of Tea: One Man’s Mission to Fight Terrorism and Build Nations…One School at a Time by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin. I’m reading it as part of a group on Book Blogs at Ning called Travel The World (From A Comfy Chair), and am enjoying it so far. I’m about halfway through the book.

I also may be beginning The Snack Thief by Andrea Camilleri as part of The Orbis Terrarum (or The Whole World) Challenge. I ordered the book through interlibrary loan and I received a large-print edition, so I should have no time seeing the print. The book is the third in the famous Inspector Montalbano series after The Shape of Water and The Terracotta Dog and also will be third in the challenge.

Coincidentally, Bethany at B & b ex libris created both the aforementioned challenge and group.

I’ll be honest I’m a little behind on a project that is due by the end of the week, so I may not get to as much reading as I would like to today. However, I hope to squeeze in some at some point during the day, even if it’s a graphic novel or two (a link to the ones I have picked up at the library).

Among libations I’ve poured to the blogging gods this past week:

At my main blog, An unfinished person (in an unfinished universe)

At my running blog, Just A (Running) Fool:

At my reading blog (here):

Meanwhile, on my “rambling” blog, Unfinished Rambling(s):

  • on Monday, I slammed Humor-Blogs, a directory of humorous blogs of which I am a member with a post titled Humor Blogs 3.0: Vista for humor bloggers, but of course in a humorous way while I highlighted some of the funny bloggers there (go there if you need a laugh, really).
  • on Thursday, I slammed myself with a post called Asshattery, indeed or manboobs at dusk, which I revealed how much of a boob I really am (pun intended: a side of me some of you here on The Sunday Salon may not want to see ;).
  • and then on Saturday, I finished up with three posts about instant messaging that began with this one about a conversation between The Wife and me titled Captain Weather-Genius I’m not, but I know MY geography. For the others, visit the blog.

7 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Drinking tea again, stealing snacks and pouring libations for the blogging gods

  1. Three Cups Of Tea is terrific

  2. K: I probably won’t be getting to much reading until later today with some work to do, but I’ll be sure to report in later. Those lazy weekends are good, though, aren’t they? Enjoy yours with your husband.

    Ann: Camilleri may be an acquired taste…but going out of order, oh, no! 😉 Of course, ironically this morning, I had a disagreement with someone about order at church, yet I prefer order in my reading. What’s that about?

    John: I see what you’re saying about the posts. As it is now, the site links to the entire blog. Maybe you’ll have to set up another blog for those random, silly thoughts. 😉

    Andi: I don’t keep up with them, either reading or writing of blogs. Actually, my Google Reader is out of control and after this week (busy week), I’m going to systematically cut back and read the ones in which I truly have an interest. My blogroll, which now is on del.icio.us though will remain for anyone that’s interested.

    Well, off to work. It’s 1 o’clock and I would like to work on this project I have until at least 4, if not 5. Then some reading. Hopefully, I’ll see you all later. For now, signing off…enjoy your Sunday, everyone.

  3. I can’t imagine how you keep us with so many blogs to write and to read (did add you to my blogroll by the way) – but kudos to you.
    As for libations, any recommendations for what to drink or listen to as one spackles a basement?

  4. Love the image of libations being poured to the blogging gods, Would have liked the idea of listing posts on the Humour Blog site but trying to do individual posts only rather then the blog was beyond me although it does seem to suggest its possible

    My Blog

  5. I’ve heard great things about Three Cups of Tea, however was told it is a slow read, but very interesting. I’ll be anxious to read your review once you’ve finished the book.

  6. I keep saying this, but I must give Camilleri a second chance. I tried his first novel and found it very slow. I prefer to work chronologically through a writer’s work, but perhaps this is an instance where I should try something later and see if that helps me to appreciate the earlier stuff.

  7. You sure are one busy guy on the blogs. Wow! Good luch with your reading today. It’s been a weekend full of errands and being lazy for the hubby and me. I admit that I haven’t gotten a lot of reading done since Friday night when I finished an ARC of SCHOOLED (which I will be reviewing on Planet Books this week).
    Check ya later!
    ~K