Do you want your Jesus on the Cross…

…or resurrected?

It sounds like a question you’d be asked by the waitress at your local cafe, doesn’t it? Or at least maybe by a waitress at a cafe with Monty Python-type sensibilities. “How do you want your eggs, hon?” And then even when asking this sacrilegious question, she’d roll her eyes and tap her notepad as if she was in a hurry.

The reason I was thinking about this was yesterday our cat, Seamus (a good Irish-sounding name, isn’t it? with a Catholic family even), knocked Jesus off his cross. We have a crucifix hanging in our living room and sometimes I hang the antennae to the radio for our stereo across it, to get better reception.

Most of the time I do get better reception, unless of course I’m listening to some ungodly station, of which we have a few here, especially country stations — which as we know are the harbingers of the Anti-Christ, if not at times, the Anti-Christ himself. The local Christian radio station, Family Life Network, comes in great, in other words, but KC-101, eh, not so much.

Here's the perpetrator with the Victim.

So Seamus, while jumping to play with the antennae, inadvertently knocks Jesus off his cross, and we said something jokingly to the effect:

“Oh, Seamus, why’d you knock Jesus off his cross?”

But today, for some reason, I realized that some Christians don’t like Jesus on the cross. They’d prefer him as Risen Lord than Paschal Sacrifice; the Glorious King, not the Suffering Servant.

However, I don’t believe you can have one without the other. As simple as it sounds: You can’t have your Jesus rising from the dead, if he doesn’t suffer and die. Personally, I think we should glory in the resurrection AND lament with him on the Way of the Cross.

Back to Monty Python of all things: At the end of the movie The Life of Brian, I believe it was Brian who was hanging on the cross, singing, “Always look on the bright side of life,” and then whistling as the credits roll.

To some degree, that’s true. We always do need to look on the bright side of life, but not without a realistic view, that along the way, we will suffer and we will die.

I know this isn’t what the cat was thinking when he knocked Jesus off his cross yesterday, but I think maybe it’s what God was telling me through Seamus’s action.

“I’ll take my Jesus on the cross AND resurrected, please, thank you.”

2 responses to “Do you want your Jesus on the Cross…

  1. Good point, Helen. I guess I was just thinking of the cross and resurrection because that’s where my focus was, but obviously without his first being born, none of what followed would have happened.

  2. And in the manger. We can’t have Jesus on the cross or the Risen Jesus without the baby born to die for the sins of the world.