The Sunday Salon: Drinking three cups of tea with Jesse James, Greg Mortenson and Wislawa Zymborska

The Sunday Salon.com
For today’s Sunday Salon, I will begin in a different place than I have begun the last couple of Sunday Salons, which was with Thomas Wolfe’s Look Homeward, Angel. Since I finished the book last night, I will be starting with a new pile of books, including, but probably not limited to the following:

  1. The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford by Ron Hansen, whose book Exiles I just recently read and reviewed here.
  2. Three Cups of Tea: One Man’s Mission to Fight Terrorism and Build Nations…One School at a Time by Greg Mortenson and David Oliver Relin, which I’m reading as part of an online book group called Travel The World (from a Comfy Chair) on Book Blogs on Ning.
  3. View with a Grain of Sand: Selected Poems by Wislawa Zymborska, a Polish poet

_________________________________________________

The week in review here on Just A (Reading) Fool:

Then I was quiet for several days here as I was busy and didn’t post anything again here,, though I did update my pages here on my header, until…

Highlights from my other blogs:

Later today, I’ll give an update on my reading as well as share links to some of the bloggers I’ve enjoyed reading this week and a few other links for your enjoyment. The review for Look Homeward, Angel, most likely will be coming tomorrow. For now, I’ll leave you with something just for fun that I posted over on my main blog yesterday:

12 responses to “The Sunday Salon: Drinking three cups of tea with Jesse James, Greg Mortenson and Wislawa Zymborska

  1. Love the video – went to the Improv Everywhere website and saw the twin mirror one in the NYC subway which is cool too.
    Going now to check out your other blogs. Happy Sunday!

  2. thekoolaidmom

    OMG! the vid is hilarious! I showed it to Maggie, and she laughed, too.

    I nominated you for a blog award: http://thekoolaidmom.wordpress.com/2008/07/22/i-have-been-nominated/

    I had already decided on your blog and came over to get a link when I saw the video 😀

  3. Lol I love the video … whenever I watch Grease the thought always crossed my mind of how weird it would be if people suddenly burst into musical improvs in real life 🙂

  4. unfinishedperson

    Marie: Thanks. I try not to make it too self-centered, though and hopefully give some other people some cred too.

    Carrie K.: My wife thinks Improv Everywhere is the greatest thing ever. Me? I think they’re cool, but maybe not The Greatest Thing Ever.

  5. unfinishedperson

    Tanbata: There are worse songs to be stuck in your head, you know? Last week I had “Beer for my horses,” by Willie Nelson and Toby Keith stuck in my head.

    Andi: Just skipped ahead to read that poem. Very good. I’ve never heard of her before this. Just picked up at library on a whim.

    Readerville: So far, 30 pages in and it’s good. Come join us over at our reading group, if you’d like. We’re going to start discussing it July 28.

    Woodbear: Glad to hear you’re back to the pleasure of reading and out of the chore-like experience it was.

    Joy: There is. It’s called “write a review,” “write a post on anything else.” 😉

  6. Officially, I don’t like memes, either! They’re such a waste of time and space. But they’re so addictive, too. I participate in way too many – there should be some sort of rehab for people trying to kick the meme habit.

  7. Wow! I’m surprised you came across my blog again as I haven’t participated in Sunday Salon in ages. Sundays are a work day for me so it’s difficult to blog from the office when I should be doing work things. Try explaining that to the Boss. Thanks though for stopping by and sharing your thoughts about the pleasure of reading vs. the chore of doing so. The pleasure is back and the books enjoyable.

  8. Love that video – it’s hilarious! I’ve seen the Frozen Grand Central one, but not that one.

  9. sounds like you havea a fun week coming up. I like your weekly recap!

  10. readerville

    You’re the third reviewer I’ve read today who’s been talking about Three Cups of Tea . I’ve been holding off because I feel like I already know the story, but I’ll be looking forward to your reactions…maybe I will have it add it to my TBRs after all.

  11. Szymborska is one of my absolutely favorite poets. Her poem “Lot’s Wife” is the my favorite Biblical re-telling.

  12. Haha! I’m going to have the napkin song in my head all night now!