Resurrecting this blog and my running

After a three-month hiatus from this blog, and initially putting it to rest in favor of another blog, I am now resurrecting this blog and hopefully by extension, my running. I will be bringing over the posts from that blog within the next month, in one form or the other, but in the meantime, posts entered there can be found at Just A (Trail Running) Fool.

Within the last two weeks I’ve been attempting to resurrect my running regimen by getting up earlier in the morning to run at least three days a week, if not four, and then to go to the gym for strength training other days. So far, I’ve had mixed results, with some days better than others. Overall, to put it bluntly, I’m not doing it.

This morning, however, my wife woke me a little before 7 a.m. after going to the gym herself, and so I made it to the gym for what might be the last time — at least to run. I did run on the elliptical for half an hour, but the thing that got to me was the TVs in the background. They were so loud. I tried turning up my iPod, but was still distracted by them.

This morning, it was the Today Show and I believe they must have talked about Angelie Jolie’s giving birth to twins (for which I will not provide a link, because you can Google it yourself if you’re that interested) for 10 minutes! When I was done and after I got in the car, I heard NPR’s Morning Edition (for which I don’t mind giving a link because unlike Jolie, it doesn’t get enough attention, but should) and not surprisingly, they were talking about more serious matters.

Needless to say, except for those days that I do strength training, or when there’s a thunderstorm or a snowstorm, I am not going to the gym.

One response to “Resurrecting this blog and my running

  1. Glad to hear you’re getting out there on a regular basis.

    TVs and running are an unusual combination. Trying to run while watching a segment about a “celebrity” birth… umm, no. Give me a running group to run with or a quiet trail anytime over that. I have my favorite shows and movies, but watching celebrity “news”? Pass.