Booking Through Thursday: Doomsday?

What would you do if, all of a sudden, your favorite source of books was unavailable?

Whether it’s a local book shop, your town library, or an Internet shop … what would you do if, suddenly, they were out of business? Devastatingly, and with no warning? Where would you go for books instead? What would you do? If it was a local business you would try to help out the owners? Would you just calmly start buying from some other store? Visit the library in the next town instead? Would it be devastating? Or just a blip in your reading habit?

Strangely, before I read this, I learned, or thought I had learned that our local bookstore was going to close. For those of you who might not have seen the slideshow I did previously of the store, here it is again:

At a county commissioners’ meeting I attended Tuesday morning, I incorrectly heard during a public comment time, one of the store owners mention that the store would be closing. Both my wife and I were really bummed out, because we have fallen in love with the basement shop. So I stopped by the store today to offer my sympathies for their closing and come to find out, I misheard. She was talking about the closing of a house that she and her significant other were purchasing. Whew! And, of course, in honor of their not closing, I ended up buying a friend a book for Buy A Friend A Book Week, even though the week was last week, as well as two books for my wife that I thought she might enjoy. (More on the BAFAB book later with a post that hopefully the friend for whom I bought the book won’t see.)

…which all brings me to today’s questions.

For some reason, today’s questions reminded me of the following speech by the villian to the hero of the movie in the 1994 movie Speed:

Pop quiz, hotshot. There’s a bomb on a bus. Once the bus goes 50 miles an hour, the bomb is armed. If it drops below 50, it blows up. What do you do? What do you do?

I think some of us would feel that same sense of panic if our favorite source of books was unavailable. Personally, I know my heart skipped several beats when I heard our local store might be going out of business. If the public library in our town was closed, I would have a full-on heart attack (good thing my wife is an EMT).

Would you try to help out the owners? I’d like to say I would, but to be honest, I don’t have the money and where we live, most folks are financially-strapped, as it is. So I doubt it.

Would you just calmly start buying from some other store? Visit the library in the next town instead? Would it be devastating? Or just a blip in your reading habit? Again, since I’m in the honesty mode already (as if I’m under oath or something, you know or like I’m the one facing a madman with a bomb strapped to his chest like Keanu Reeves was):  with over 120 books on my TBR pile, I don’t think I need to be buying any more books. That doesn’t mean I don’t go to the library and fall to temptation (to that evil new book bookshelf) or the bookstore (their daemonic mystery section), because yes, I do (and oh, their pages feel so good to the touch, they do, they do), but I certainly don’t need to go to either place. I have enough temptations here in my own home and still in boxes at my parent’s home to last me a good many years.

Note: I will make an attempt to visit some of my fellow Booking Through Thursdayers (is that a word? well, it is now) later tonight or tomorrow. Just so you don’t think I’m ignoring y’all. It’s just I have a bit of a headache and need to get off the computer for a bit.

One response to “Booking Through Thursday: Doomsday?

  1. Looks a lovely bookshop, it’s a shame my hometown doesn’t really have anywhere with that personal touch. There are a couple of really nice ones sorta locally, but they’re really hard to get to without a car, and as I don’t drive, I don’t get to visit them as often as I’d like.

    So I end up going to the corporate-ness that is my local Waterstones, who’s redeeming feature is its fantastic location.