Tuesday Thingers and where I be this Tuesday

So time for two for Tuesday:

  1. First, the questions for today’s Tuesday Thingers from Marie at The Boston Bibliophile: Since we’re past the Fourth of July and the summer season has officially started, what are your plans for the summer? Vacations, trips? Trips that involve reading? Reading plans? If you’re going somewhere, do you do any reading to prepare? Do you read local literature as part of your trip? Have you thought about using the LT Local feature to help plan your book-buying? My answers: No plans, thanks for asking and rubbing it in, Marie, that you’re going to Vegas and San Francisco and the Star Trek Experience. No trips that involve reading (see that picture in my header: that’s the last vacation I think on which I really read and that was in 2004 in Old Orchard Beach, Maine). Plan on reading a crapload more books this summer (okay, really this fall) to catch up on the too many challenges I’ve joined. Wow, you’re really rubbing it in, Marie, reminding me that I’m going nowhere. If I was going anywhere, though, I wouldn’t read local literature though. It’s more fun talking to the natives, learning about their culture that way, especially if you’re in some redneck state like Pennsylvania where I live. “So what’s your favorite varmint to hunt? Personally, I like raccoons, getting the dogs out and treeing those black and white critters. What do you think?” (I don’t really, but whoo-ee, the conversations I bet that would start here: “Well, not me, I like woodchucks…” “No, I like taking potshots at voles…”) I didn’t know LT had such a feature, but now I’ll have to go check it out…oh, wait, I’m not going anywhere. That’s right. Thanks again, Marie. ๐Ÿ˜‰
  2. It’s Tuesday, Where Are You? with Raidergirl3: You don’t help either, Raidergirl3. Thanks for reminding me that I’ve been in the same place for the last few weeks: I’m still in western North Carolina with Eugene Gant and family in Look Homeward, Angel. I got bogged down a little with some extraneous characters talking outside a shop, but now the focus is back to Eugene and I’m back on track. Okay, well, I haven’t been there the whole time. I also took a side trip to England with Gerard Manley Hopkins as he writes his poem The Wreck of the Deutschland in Exiles by Ron Hansen (review coming tomorrow), and I’m getting ready to head to “a quiet parish on the strange, flat fen-country of East Anglia” in “a tale of suspense, character and mood by an author the critics rate as one of the great masters of the mystery novel.” Just for fun, can you tell me who’s taking me there and in what book? (I’m sorry, I have no free books or anything…I’m not that ambitious yet, but I’ll give a gold star to the first person that answers. ๐Ÿ™‚

5 responses to “Tuesday Thingers and where I be this Tuesday

  1. You donโ€™t help either, Raidergirl3
    Hey, I do what I can.

    I was going to guess Agatha Christie, which apparently was wrong, wrong, wrong.

  2. The word “varmint” is ALWAYS funny to me! I have no idea what a vole is–I’ll have to get on good ole’ Wikipedia! I’m sorry you aren’t taking a trip any time soon, but that’s what is so great about reading…even if you are at home, you can feel like you are somewhere exotic, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Love your answer … it made me lol too. That varmint hunting converstion is quite familiar to me from a few weekend trips I’ve taken around Atlantic Canada – get far enough into the sticks and hunting unusual critters is considered good old fashioned entertainment!

  4. unfinishedperson

    Wow. That was quick: on the answer. Anyone else who posts: sorry, thekoolaidmom won, and gets the gold star (sorry, metaphorical gold star, not an actual one). I’ll deputize the rest of you with silver stars (sorry, I know, bad! har, har, har as my wife would say, it’s late here and I’m not working on all cylinders).

    thekoolaidmom: I didn’t connect on the German books. I was thinking for some reason of Dracula in a casket. As for the Amish erotica, I’m not going to touch that one with a….trying to think up something Amish or A-mish as one of my friends from down near Philly used to say, but the only thing I can think of is shoofly pie and that doesn’t seem right…well, some Amish farming implement.

  5. thekoolaidmom

    The Nine Tailors (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery)

    I laughed out loud at your comment. See, yeah.. the German books are from Transylvania.. yeah, that’s the ticket! or maybe they’re Amish Erotica… yeah, yeah… complete with step-by-step illustrations. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Poor Marie, so maligned and harangued. I picked a bit last week because wordpress didn’t like my attempts at “the list”. Now, you’re on about her rubbing it in… Jealous, much? I know I am.