Stanza 30: Gaining virtue through hardship

Stanza 30 and Commentary on It in The Spiritual Canticle by St. John of the Cross
My commentary on Section 5

I think back this morning to my completing the Bald Eagle Mountain Megatransect, a 24.9 mile trail hike/endurance run last fall. I didn’t prepare for it as well as I should have. I didn’t do enough hills. I didn’t do enough mileage. But I did the event anyway.

In the end, by the time I reached the top of the Chilkoot, the last tough section on the course, I felt like I had accomplished something, despite my lack of preparation, or maybe because of my lack of preparation. That I could make it that far was a miracle, a virtue, which was gained through hardship, definitely hardship with over 5,000 feet in elevation gain across the nearly 25 miles.

Now this morning, I had planned to start a new plan of getting up early to run. Last night my wife and I went out, and I had a couple of drinks and sabotaged myself. So I woke up at 8:30 a.m. instead of the scheduled 6:30 a.m. But am I giving up? No. I will start anew tomorrow. As for today, I’m still running — by taking some DVDs to the library and the video store.

Comments are closed.