Sunday Salon: Starting with Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

The Sunday Salon.comThis week’s Sunday Salon, I begin with Bel Canto by Ann Patchett. I’m already about 100 pages into the 318-page book and probably should be finished with the book by the end of the day today. I found this one on a bargain book rack at the local used bookstore and my wife, who has already read it, highly recommended it to me. I don’t know if I’m as thrilled with it as she is. However, it is better so far than the book with which I ended last week’s Sunday Salon post, The Book of the Dun Cow by Walter Wangerin Jr. I was unable to finish that book, but still reviewed it here.

I also will continue reading Look Homeward, Angel by Thomas Wolfe, which I’m taking very slowly and sporadically, but am still enjoying. I might add a few books that I took out of our local library:

  • The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
  • The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing: Traitor to the Nation by M.T. Anderson
  • Exiles by Ron Hansen.

I actually picked up the latter book twice at the library. The first time I didn’t plan on taking out the book. I saw on the cover that Hansen was the author of The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford, which is a movie I have in my Netflix queue. So I went to see if the library owned a copy, which the library didn’t and I had to order the book through interlibrary loan. In the process, though, I learned that the book Exiles was a fictional account of how Gerard Manley Hopkins might have been inspired to write his famous poem The Wreck of the Deutschland. In college, I fell in love with the poetry of Hopkins and when I saw that this was about one of his most celebrated poems, I decided that I could not resist and especially at only 227 pages.
______________________________________________________

A review of my week in blogging here

Tuesday was my busiest day in terms of blogging here:

  • I participated in Tuesday Thingers, sponsored by The Boston Bibliophile, which this week was about unique books that we own on LibraryThing. Here was my answer.
  • Also on Tuesday, I highlighted a new project that has been started by The Bluestocking Society called Blue Leafs, in which she will give weekly one-page notes on a book that can be used by reading group. Her first one is for On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan.
  • I participated in raidergirl3’s It’s Tuesday, Where Are You?. At that time, I was just getting ready to take off to the home of the vice president of a South American country, where a lavish birthday was being thrown for Mr. Hosokawa in Patchett’s book. Here was my slightly extended answer.
  • And finally, I celebrated that I was up over 1,000 views for the month (now climbing to 1,300) on this fledgling blog.

On Thursday, I participated:

On Friday, I ended my week by:

______________________________________________________

Bonus: For something a little off the beaten path, here is something from one of my other blogs about what happened when I misheard something my wife said yesterday morning and what happens when she misheard some lyrics to a Yes song.

5 responses to “Sunday Salon: Starting with Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

  1. I am yet to read Bel Canto. Next time on my book buying spree, I will get that!

    On Human Bondage is not everyone’s cup of tea. However, for us diehard readers, it is well worth the effort. I will post my review soon and you can chek that out. Next two days, I have nothing to do with books! I am gonna sleep!

  2. When we read ‘Bel Canto’ in my reading group we all felt that it was one of those books that took you by surprise and got very much better as it went on, so you may find that it pays to keep going. I have Patchett’s ‘Run’ very close to the top of my tbr pile. I hope it’s as good.

  3. I’d be curious to hear what you think of Pratchett in the end. A friend of mine has recently highly recommended her work, but it hasn’t exactly seemed like my cup of tea.

  4. I love Bel Canto! I have also managed over 1,000 hits the past two months. Congrats!

  5. thekoolaidmom

    You are quite the busy beaver! Congrats on the 1000+ hits, by the way. No small feat, to be sure!